News Segment


May 6, 2005

The Swedish Invasion Continues!! Perris Records would like to announce the signing of former Shotgun Messiah vocalist Zinny Zan’s new project Zan Clan. Zan Clan will be releasing “We Are Zan Clan, Who The Fuck Are You” in June 2005. Zinny Zan is one of the most charismatic frontmen ever. His voice contains everything from Phil Lynotts nonchalant cool to Steven Tyler-like screams. Mr. Zan only has to open his mouth to create the sound of true rock’n’roll.

Zinny’s new partner in crime is platinum-selling songwriter, producer and guitarist Chris Laney. A man who has also worked with the likes of Bruce Kulick (Kiss), Randy Piper (WASP) and several others. Teaming up with Laney has resulted in the same kind of revitalization for Zan as Rick Rubin meant for acts like Slayer, Red Hot Chili Peppers and AC/DC. Probably because Laney inhabits the same combination of fan, visionaire and total pro as Rubin.Together, Laney and Zan hand-picked some of the most amazing Swedish players around: Johan Koleberg is Sweden’s greatest drummer in the field of hard rock and metal. He was a member of Lion’s Share and has played with some of Sweden’s biggest solo acts. The magnificently versatile guitarist Pontus Norgren has lent his skill and taste to bands like Great King Rat, Jekyll’n’Hyde, Humanimal and Talisman, as well as working as a session player. Ballsy bassist Pontus “Eggy” Egberg, formerly of Lion’s Share, is also a sought-after session player.

Admittedly, it’s been quiet on the Zan front for far too long, but now his own band Zan Clan are back with a new lineup and an new album. The album includes a collection of songs that feel like a 21st century sequel to Shotgun Messiah’s ground-breaking debut album, which shifted more than 500 000 units in the U.S. alone. Where most bands are under the impression that they have to choose between hard riffs and party rock’n’roll, Zan Clan combine the best of both worlds. Regardless if you wanna bang your head or sing along, they do the trick.

Track Listing:

1. Go Go Go
2. Heart N’ Soul
3. High Speed Junkie
4. So Damn Good
5. Mess Ya Up
6. Silver Bullet Toy
7. Heart Died Young
8. Deja Vu
9. Jinxed
10. Can’t Get U Out
11. Outro
12. Surrender (Bonus Track)

Don’t forget to look for the Perris Records Booth at this year’s Sweden Rock Fest!!!!

Courtesy of