Europe – Wings Of Tomorrow

Europe - Wings Of Tomorrow
Released 1984 (Epic)

Track List:
01. Stormwind
02. Scream Of Anger
03. Open Your Heart
04. Treated Bad Again
05. Aphasia
06. Wings Of Tomorrow
07. Wasted Time
08. Lyin’ Eyes
09. Dreamer
10. Dance The Night Away

Joey Tempest – vocals, acoustic guitar and keyboards
John Norum – guitar
John Leven – bass
Tony Reno – drums

Produced by Leif Mases.

You all know Europe, right? The band that brought “The Final Countdown” to be precise. Well this is the album that preceded that recording and that got America interested in the band. It is different in many ways from the glam Europe mass public knows.

  This is a pure hard rock/heavy metal record in the best vein of Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy and Judas Priest. The guitar riffs are vicious, the drums kick ass and the bass gives that extra power…and vocals, well Joey Tempest is awesome as always.

  Wings Of Tomorrow opens up with “Stormwind” and “Scream Of Anger”, both pure badass rock n roll songs, and then slows down for original (and in my opinion better) version of “Open You Heart”. Then Europe go Whitesnake on us with “Treated Bad Again”, which may be the best song on the album and one of the best from the group’s entire Europe catalogue. That song is followed by a two-and-a-minute instrumental called “Aphasia” and then straight into the hard rocking title track. That song is followed by “Wasted Time” and “Lyin’ Eyes” which are both very head-banging, mosh-pit making heavy metal tunes, before the CD goes into the very emotional ballad “Dreamer”. The album ends with “Dance The Night Away”, and no, it is not a Van Halen cover. It is yet another cool hard rock song and a great ending for the album.

  Do I recommend this album? Hell yeah! To who? To everyone who enjoys good, pure, hard rock and heavy metal. Get Wings Of Tomorrow, you won’t be disappointed, even if you don’t like Europe‘s latter albums. –

Reviewed by Sleaze Glammer for Sleaze Roxx, September 2008.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at