Mr. Nasty – Ain’t Dead Yet

Mr. Nasty - Ain't Dead Yet
Released 2005 (Mr. Nasty/Hardline Records)

Track List:
01. Rock N Roll Man
02. The Hardline
03. Murder In My Eyes
04. Joyride
05. Dream About You
06. Self Destruction
07. Loose
08. Wild World
09. Moonlight Serenade

Dee Dee Sweet – vocals
Scott Bittner – guitar
Raven – bass
Mike Sivo – drums

Produced by Mr. Nasty.

Things have definitely changed over the years. Mr. Nasty has returned with their first album in over a decade and sounds less like Faster Pussycat then ever – although they do sound more like them then Taime‘s current version. Some people may complain that there are only five new tunes represented here (with the other four originally appearing on 1992’s The Fine Art Of Self Destruction), but I say ANY killer new songs is better than none. Besides, all but “The Hardline” and “Moonlight Serenade” were rerecorded just for this release.

  The opening track, “Rock N Roll Man”, reminds me of Aerosmith during their mid-70s peak – it is simply straight-forward rock ‘n’ roll. It seems like everyone and their dog has covered “Wild World”, although fans of this site will likely remember Mr. Big‘s sweet and innocent version. Well Mr. Nasty‘s version is anything but sweet, it is a hyper pop-glam rendition that comes across great. “Moonlight Serenade” may be one of those older songs, but it still works today, the vocals have a deep guttural sound and the steady beat is accentuated with a hypnotizing riff.

  One of the great things about this mini hard rock resurgence is that even unknown bands like Mr. Nasty decide to crawl out of the gutters and show people once again what made late 80s sleaze so damn good. Let’s hope Ain’t Dead Yet will create enough interest for the boys to head into the studio at least one more time. You can buy this album (on May 31st) and hear samples of each song at It may be 2005, but Mr. Nasty is finally bringing the “nasty” back to rock ‘n’ roll.

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, May 2005.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at