A Sound Of Thunder Announces New Album And EP

A Sound Of Thunder Announces New Album And EP

August 20, 2012

Washington, DC based heavy metallers A Sound Of Thunder have begun work on their third full-length album entitled ‘Time’s Arrow’. The band has entered Assembly Line Studios with producer Kevin “131” Gutierrez (Shinedown, While Heaven Wept, Raven). With the same band line-up, producer and studio that created 2012’s acclaimed ‘Out Of The Darkness’ (Nightmare Records), ‘Time’s Arrow’ features 11 new songs combining rousing and catchy traditional metal with crushing modern production. ‘Time’s Arrow’ will be released in early 2013.

The centerpiece of the album is the 9-minute sci-fi themed title track. Guitarist and composer Josh Schwartz describes the track as, “a high octane headbanger with an unforgettable riff and an engaging story. Stylistically it’s Iron Maiden meets Rush with a bit of Meatloaf thrown in for bombast.” The tale begun in the lyrics is expanded in a short story by drummer Chris Haren, available in the limited box set edition of ‘Time’s Arrow’.

On August 20, 2012 A Sound of Thunder started a Kickstarter.com fundraiser campaign for the recording of ‘Time’s Arrow’. The campaign will run for 30 days and offers fans a chance to pre-order the album, have their name printed in the album booklet, reserve an ultra-limited box set edition of the album, and acquire unique and rare items from the band. A video at the band’s Kickstarter page contains the first clips from the new album.

The band has also announced a second new release, the ‘Queen Of Hell’ EP, due out in November. Also recorded at Assembly Line Studios with producer Kevin “131” Gutierrez, the ‘Queen Of Hell’ EP contains four new tracks and is only available via the band’s Kickstarter campaign. More details can be found at www.asoundofthunderband.com.

“We’ve always wanted to do an homage to classic swords & sorcery themed metal album covers,” says lead vocalist Nina Osegueda. “As you can see, we’ve gone horns up with the ‘Queen Of Hell’ art… I finally have the throne of skulls I’ve always wanted!” The cover art was provided by Serbian artist Dusan Markovic.

‘Queen Of Hell’ track listing:
01. The Queen of Hell (album version)
02. The Queen of Hell (Two Queens Mix)
03. Trashed (Black Sabbath cover)
04. Let’s Start a Fire

Courtesy of www.sleazeroxx.com