AC/DC and Mammoth WVH nominated for awards at upcoming 2022 Grammy Awards

AC/DC and Mammoth WVH nominated for awards at upcoming 2022 Grammy Awards

The 64th edition of the Grammy Awards will be taking place on January 31, 2022 and hosted by The Daily Show host Trevor Noah.

There are 86 awards listed on the Grammy‘s website with four under the Rock category. AC/DC have three nominations with two in the Rock category while Mammoth WVH featuring Van Halen bassist Wolgang Van Halen have one nomination in the Rock category.

One of AC/DC‘s nominations is for Best Rock Performance for their single “Shot In The Dark” and they will be competing against the Black Pumas (“Know You Better (Live From Capitol Studio A)”), Chris Cornell (“Nothing Compares 2 U”), the Deftones (“Ohms”) and the Foo Fighters (“Making A Fire”).

The Australian rockers also have a nomination for Best Rock Album with their album Power Up, which was released back on November 13, 2020. They are competing with the Black Pumas (Capitol Cuts – Live From Studio A), Chris Cornell (No One Sings Like You Anymore Vol. 1), the Foo Fighters (Medicine At Midnight) and Paul McCartney (McCartney III) for that award.

Finally, AC/DC, along with video director David Mallet and video producer Dione Orrom, have been nominated for Best Music Video for the single “Shot In The Dark.” Their competition consists of Jon Batiste, along with video director Alan Ferguson and video producer Alex P. Willson, for the single “Freedom”; Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga, along with video director Jennifer Lebeau and video producers Danny Bennett, Bobby Campbell and Jennifer Lebeau, for the single “I Get A Kick Out of You”; Justin Bieber featuring Daniel Caesar and Giveon, along with video director Colin Tilley, and video producers Jamee Ranta and Jack Winter, for the single “Peaches”; Billie Eilish (also as video director) along with video producers Michelle An, Chelsea Dodson and David Moore for the single “Happier Than Ever”; Lil Nas X, along with video producers Lil Nas X and Tanu Muino, and video producers Frank Borin, Ivanna Borin, Marco De Molina and Saul Levitz, for the single “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)”; and, Olivia Rodrigo, along with video producer Petra Collins and video directors Christiana Divona, Marissa Ramirez and Tiffany Suh, for the single “Good 4 U.”

Mammoth WVH are nominated for Best Rock Song with their single “Distance” which was written by Wolfgang Van Halen. The other contenders for the award consist of the following songwriters Rivers Cuomo, Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson and Ilsey Juber (Weezer‘s “All My Favorite Songs”); Caleb Followill, Jared Followill, Matthew Followill and Nathan Followill (Kings of Leon‘s “The Bandit”); Paul McCartney (“Find My Way”); and, Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Rami Jaffee, Nate Mendel, Chris Shiflett and Pat Smear (Foo Fighters‘ “Waiting On A War”).

AC/DC‘s “Shot In The Dark” video:

Mammoth WVH‘s “Distance” video: