Ambrose Releases New Album ‘Promise Land’


July 14, 2009

Los Angeles Rockers Ambrose Release New Album

With Promise Land, Ambrose harkens back to the days of classic rock anthems while creating a style all their own.

Ambrose Releases New Album Promise LandWith their upcoming album Promise Land, Hollywood-based rock band Ambrose brings their modern interpretation of classic American rock ‘n roll to a new generation of fans. Known for their inventive songwriting and enthusiastic, spirited live performances, Ambrose recalls the classic anthemic rock of AC/DC, The Rolling Stones, and David Bowie while creating a passionate, powerful sound all their own.

Lead singer and lead/rhythm guitarist Zak Ambrose founded the band in L.A. in 2005, creating an outlet for the songwriting and performance skills he began cultivating as a teenager. Joining Zak on lead and rhythm guitar is Canadian Sebastian Sage. Tyson Strom on bass brings a roots-driven, fluid style from his hometown in Colorado, while drummer James McCutchen, a Southern California native, provides the percussion skills he honed as a teenager in the California rock scene. Rounding out the group is Detroit-native Grant Loosvelt on keyboards and organ.

In 2006, Ambrose recorded their self-titled debut album through Blue Fish Entertainment and immediately garnered raves from critics, musicians and fans. Jonathan Cott, contributing editor of Rolling Stone magazine, called the record “a wonderful, heart-opening, passionate album of love, loss, and redemption with spangles of sunlight and shades of U2.” In November 2006, Gene Simmons hosted Ambrose’s L.A. debut performance to a full house at The Key Club.

In 2007 and 2008, Ambrose continued to ride the waves of critical and popular success, playing over twenty-five shows in Hollywood alone at such infamous venues as The Roxy, The Key Club, The Troubadour, The Viper Room and The Mint. Throughout 2008, Ambrose continued to headline and produce shows at The Roxy in Hollywood, helping to develop and strengthen a classic rock movement on The Sunset Strip. The band also received airplay on stations including WRXP 101.9 in NYC, KOMP Las Vegas, and KDOT Reno.

In 2008, Ambrose began recording Promise Land with Anthony Focx, a veteran producer who has mixed and re-mixed American classics suck as Aerosmith, Guns ‘n Roses, Motley Crue, and Buckcherry. Ambrose recorded two new songs, “Save” and “Nothing Left to Lose,” as well as remixing and re-mastering the Blue Fish recordings from Ambrose. The bands’ debut music video, for “Ocean Side,” is already available on their myspace page, and their second video, “All I Ever Wanted,” will debut on August 15th, 2009 at The Key Club in L.A.

On the subject of Promise Land, Ambrose themselves calls the album “our contribution to the renaissance of Rock ‘N Roll.” Critics are equally enthusiastic about the material, with music journalist Bill McCoy calling the band “American rock and roll, Sunset Strip style.”

Ambrose is actively seeking a new record label as well as like-minded bands to tour with.

You can check out Ambrose on their myspace page,, and live at The Key Club in L.A. on August 15th. Their new album Promise Land will be released soon.

Courtesy of and