Babylon A.D. announce departure of guitarist Ron Freschi and replacement Marc “Spyder” Webb

Babylon A.D. announce departure of guitarist Ron Freschi and replacement Marc “Spyder” Webb

Babylon A.D.‘s original and long-time guitarist Ron Freschi is no longer part of the band and has been replaced by Marc “Spyder” Webb.

The announcement apparently was released yesterday but is nowhere to be found on Babylon A.D.‘s website or Facebook page at this point. However, there is a photo of Webb with the rest of the group as the cover photo on the band’s Facebook page.

XS Rock posted the following in part (with slight edits) on their website yesterday:

Babylon A.D. proudly announces Marc “Spyder” Webb as the band’s new guitarist, following the departure of long-time member, Ron Freschi. The new line-up includes lead vocalist Derek Davis, guitarist John Matthews, drummer Jamey Pacheco, and bassist Eric Pacheco. Babylon A.D. is currently writing and recording for their fifth studio album.

Spyder is a well known, respected guitarist who has contributed to the East Bay, CA music scene for many years. His accomplishments include seven Guitar Shred competition titles and multiple Eastern European and Domestic tours, opening for Rage Against the Machine and Tommy Lee’s solo tour with DJ Arrow. Hailing from Edgewater New Jersey, Spyder has delivered the sonic goods for over 20 years. Babylon A.D. is excited about the direction and future that lie ahead.

The band would like to thank Ron Freschi for his many years of friendship, creativity, and professionalism. Ron’s guitar playing and songwriting on Bang Go the Bells, Sweet Temptation, Redemption, One Way Ride and others were a big factor in the band’s brand and sound.

Babylon A.D. is currently booking shows and writing and recording new songs for their next album. Stay tuned for the new single and video “Sucker For Me” on the band’s label, Apocalypse Records!”

After having a very stable line-up for decades, there have been a number of changes in Babylon A.D.‘s line-up with guitarist Danny De La Rosa getting replaced by original guitarist John Matthews in March 2017, bassist Robb Reid getting replaced by Eric Pacheco in July 2018, and now Freschi getting replaced by Webb.

Freschi played on all of Babylon A.D.‘s albums consisting of Babylon A.D. (1989), Nothing Sacred (1992), Live In Your Face (1998), American Blitzkrieg (2002), In The Beginning… Persuaders Recordings 8688 (2006), Lost Sessions/Fresno, CA 93 (2014), Live@XXV (2015) and Revelation Highway (2017).