Bang Tango Reissues Coming On January 31st

Bang Tango Reissues Coming On January 31st

January 13, 2011

The exclusive re-releases of Bang Tango’s ‘Psycho Cafe’, ‘Dancin’ on Coals’ and ‘Ain’t No Jive… Live’ will be released by Metal Mind Productions on January 31, 2011. For fans of glam rock, hard rock or funk rock – this is a trip you can’t afford to miss! The albums will be available in a new digipak edition, each limited to 2000 copies, while the re-release of ‘Dancin’ On Coals’ will include two bonus tracks.

It’s hard not to think about lost opportunities when referring to Bang Tango. Perhaps one of the most original and eclectic members of the glam/funk scene, this group had it all: great songs, clever image and significant sound. Unfortunately, they never managed to achieve the success they deserved. However, the fans have not forgotten about them and after many tribulations, Bang Tango have returned in not one but two incarnations: one with the original singer and another featuring the original musicians. Now, thanks to the exclusive re-issues of “Psycho Cafe”, “Dancin’ on Coals” and “Ain’t No Jive… Live”, music lovers all around the world may once again return to the early 1990’s.

Bang Tango was formed in 1987 in Los Angeles, California. The original line-up consisted of vocalist Joe LeSte, guitarists Kyle Stevens and Mark Knight, bassist Kyle Kyle (born Kyle Keiderling) and drummer Tigg Ketler. The group was lucky enough to sign to MCA Records without even releasing a single demo. In 1989, they recorded their first album “Psycho Cafe”, which immediately caught the attention of rock enthusiasts, both locally and nationally. The LP was definitely ahead of its time, delivering great metal riffs, funky bass lines, intense drumming and LeSte’s wide vocal range, easily mixing glam, hard rock and funk. “Psycho Cafe” spawned a couple of hits, such as “Breaking Up a Heart of Stone” and one of the band’s most famous tracks – “Someone Like You”.

In 1991, Bang Tango returned with their sophomore album “Dancin’ on Coals”.The LP brought a significant change in the group’s music, pushing it more towards funk rock in the vein of Red Hot Chili Peppers. Their style was still a bit difficult to classify but such tracks as “Dressed Up Vamp” and “Soul To Soul” brought nothing less than sheer musical genius.1992 brought the band’s second live material (after “Live Injection” from 1989). The 5-track EP entitled “Ain’t No Jive… Live” showcased Bang Tango at the peak of their talent. All of the songs included in this material sound as good as on the albums, though they are played faster and with much more energy. The group played some of their best known hits such as “Someone Like You”, “Dancin’ On Coals” and “Attack of Life”, as well as a premiere track for that time (“20th Century Boy”) and the ballad “Midnight Strikes”, with LeSte’s stellar performance.

In 1994, Bang Tango released their third LP called “Love After Death”. Unfortunately, the album was not as successful as the band had hoped and, in 1995, the guys decided to call it quits. In the following year, the group reunited just to disband again in 1998. Another reunion took place in 1999, when original members Joe LeSte and Kyle Kyle teamed up with bassist Mattie B. (ex-Altar Boys) for a national tour, which proved to be a great success. A new album was in the making but, eventually, it never got released. In 2002, LeSte reformed the band again, this time with a completely new line-up. The group is still actively touring. In 2010, the original members of Bang Tango: Tigg Ketler, Mark Knight and Kyle Kyle decided to bring back yet another version of the legendary band.

‘Psycho Cafe’ tracklisting:
1. Attack of Life
2. Someone Like You
3. Wrap My Wings
4. Breaking Up A Heart of Stone
5. Shotgun Man
6. Don’t Stop Now
7. Love Injection
8. Just For You
9. Do What You’re Told
10. Sweet Little Razor

‘Dancin’ On Coals’ tracklisting:
1. Soul to Soul
2. United and True
3. Emotion in Gear
4. I’m in Love
5. Big Line
6. Midnight Struck
7. Dancin’ on Coals
8. My Saltine
9. Dressed Up Vamp
10. Last Kiss
11. Cactus Juice
Bonus tracks:
12. 20th Century Boy
13. Futurama (live)

Ain’t No Jive… Live’ tracklisting:
1. Dancin’ On Coals
2. 20th Century Boy
3. Someone Like You
4. Midnight Struck
5. Attack Of Life

Courtesy of and