Biff Byford explains how Saxon came up with the songs to cover on their upcoming album ‘Inspirations’

Biff Byford explains how Saxon came up with the songs to cover on their upcoming album ‘Inspirations’

Saxon frontman Biff Byford was recently interviewed by Jimmy Kay and Alan “The Metal Guy” Dixon for Canada’s The Metal Voice. Byford was promoting Saxon‘s upcoming covers album Inspirations, which will be available via Silver Lining Music on March 19, 2021.

Track List for Inspirations:
01. Paint It Black
02. Immigrant Song
03. Paperback Writer
04. Evil Woman
05. Stone Free
06. Bomber
07. Speed King
08. The Rocker
09. Hold The Line
10. Problem Child
11. See My Friends

In terms of the song selections for Inspirations, Byford indicated (as transcribed by The Metal Voice with slight edits): “I asked the band to pick two songs, so we made a list of songs. Some of them were really weird so we didn’t bother. I picked about five of the songs but remember we had more songs on the list than recorded. I waited until we were actually playing them live to see what they sounded like, some songs didn’t transpose. I wanted a song from [Black] Sabbath, [Deep] Purple and [Led] Zeppelin. We really didn’t want to do the easy ones from Zeppelin or Purple. The Black Sabbath one (“Evil Woman”) is an odd choice but I didn’t really know what to do with Sabbath, so I went with the Crow‘s song (done by Black Sabbath) “Evil Woman.” I was born in the 50’s so the 60’s was a big time to be growing up with music. There were a lot of other bands that we could have done but I wanted the big three in there [The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix].The thing with The Beatles when they played on TV for the very first time in 1963. I was like 12-13 years old, so seeing a band on TV in my living room was a big first for me so it influenced me a lot musically. Then obviously the Stones came later. I thought The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and in particular [Jimi] Hendrix influenced us definitely. Everyone one of the cover songs on the album has a connection to the band.”

In regard to how long it took to record Inspirations, Byford stated: “We recorded the whole album in about 17 days. It’s a very live album. I don’t think there were any overdubs on it. It’s very live. It was done in a big house in a big room like the old ‘n days and it was just good fun. We thought the [new Saxon] album has been pushed back. No one has any idea what is happening with the vaccination things or when we will be getting back to the stage. If people like it, we will probably do another one next year. It’s good fun to do because there is no pressure and the songs are already written [laughs].”

You can read other excerpts from the interview with Biff Byford at The Metal Voice‘s website and/or listen to the interview below: