Beautiful Creatures Bio


2001 – Beautiful Creatures
2003 – Deuce

Sleazy hard rock dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st Century, Beautiful Creatures managed to get a major label deal and make some headlines in an era when dirty rock & roll was on life support.

Joe LeSte (vocals, and at that time formerly with Bang Tango) and DJ Ashba (previously briefly the BulletBoys guitarist) formed the Beautiful Creatures in September 1999 in Hollywood. Over the next year, the group was rounded out with the additions of Anthony Focx (guitar, who originally played drums with such Sunset Strip bands as Tommi Gunn and Jones Street), Kenny Kweens (bass, and at that time formerly with Shake The Faith and No. 9) and Glen Sobel (at that time, a session drummer who had worked with people such as Ken Tamplin, Gary Hoey and Saga).

The band played its first gig in July of 2000 and within three months had recorded a demo that caught the attention of Warner Bros records. The Beautiful Creatures were quickly being pushed into the limelight, garnering a spot on one of rock’s premiere tours — Ozzfest, despite having no album in stores. With the release of the debut album and the wrapping up of the Ozzfest dates, things began to unravel. With Warner Bros merging with AOL, several bands got lost in the shuffle with the Beautiful Creatures being one of them as their debut album sank with little promotion.

Founding member DJ Ashba quickly jumped ship followed closely by Sobel. Alex Grossi (guitar) and Matt Starr (drums) were brought in as the band was determined to forge ahead with a new label, and an album with the working title of Deuce. By the time of its release however, Mark Simpson and Timmy Russell were the latest members of the Beautiful Creatures. The group continued touring including playing Rocklahoma in 2009 and even had one of its songs, “Anyone” from the Deuce album, appear on the television series ‘Sons Of Anarchy.’ Beautiful Creatures eventually disbanded with Leste continuing on with Bang Tango.

A Facebook page was created in 2013 by fans wanting a Beautiful Creatures reunion. On October 4, 2016, the Monsters Of Rock Cruise was the sight of a Beautiful Creatures reunion when LeSte, Kweens, Russell and guitarist Alex Grossi played live together. In January 2017, it was announced that Beautiful Creatures‘ sophomore album would be getting remixed and remastered with bonus tracks as Deuce Deluxe with a release date in March 2017.


BC self-titled CD coverBeautiful Creatures (2001) Track List:
01. 1 A.M.
02. Wasted
03. Step Back
04. Ride
05. Wish
06. Kick Out
07. Blacklist
08. Kickin For Days
09. Time And Time Again
10. Goin Off
11. New Orleans
12. I Got It All
13. 1 A.M. (acoustic **Japanese release only**)
14. Get Up (**Japanese release only**)

Joe LeSte – vocals
DJ Ashba – guitar and backing vocals
Anthony Focx – guitar and backing vocals
Kenny Kweens – bass and backing vocals
Glen Sobel – drums and backing vocals

BC DEuce cover 2Deuce (2003) Track List:
01. Anyone
02. Freedom
03. Unforgiven
04. Save Me
05. Superfly
06. Empty
07. Never
08. Straight To Hell
09. The Unknown
10. Ton Of Lead
11. Brand New Day
12. Thanks
13. I Won’t Be The One

Joe LeSte – vocals
Anthony Focx – guitar and backing vocals
Alex Grossi – guitar
Kenny Kweens – bass and backing vocals
Timmy Russell – drums