Sweet F.A. Bio


1989 – Stick To Your Guns
1991 – Temptation
2007 – The Lost Tapes

Sweet F.A. were another typical, yet effective, sleaze band to come from the late ’80s scene. The band only released two albums, similar in style to the BulletBoys, before disappearing.

Steven David DeLong (vocals), Jim “Quiggins” Quick (bass) and Tricky Lane (drums) formed the band in Indiana with the guitar duo of James Lee Thorpe and Jon Huffman (who also ridiculously used the surnames of Thunder and Lightning). The Midwestern boys played their first gig on November 21, 1988, and had a major label deal a mere eleven months later.

The group holed up with producer Howard Benson in Atlanta, Georgia to record the debut album Stick To Your Guns. It would prove to be an excellent release, with singles such as “Prince of The City” and “Rhythm of Action”, but would stall at #161 on the Billboard charts. Disappointed with sales, MCA released the band from its roster in late 1990, as Sweet F.A. themselves released Quiggins.

With a new label, the band set to record the follow-up album with session bassist Frank Coglitore. Released in 1991, Temptation was a more mature album, but failed to do much business in recession-hit America. The band hit the road with new bassist Mark Matthews, but with the musical tides changing in the early nineties, the end had arrived for Sweet F.A.. That was until 2007, when the band made its comeback and released an album from the vaults called The Lost TapesSweet F.A. ended up performing only two reunion shows in late 2007 and after that, two of the original members selected replacements to play with under the Sweet F.A. name for several shows in Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.


Stick To Your Guns (1989)
01. Prince of The City
02. Nothin’ For Nothin’
03. Rhythm of Action
04. Do A Little Drivin’
05. Daily Grind
06. Stick To Your Guns
07. Whiskey River
08. I Love Women
09. Breakin’ The Law
10. Heart of Gold
11. Devil’s Road
12. Southern Comfort

Band Members:
Steven David DeLong – vocals
Jon “Lightning” Huffman – guitar and backing vocals
James Thunder – guitar and backing vocals
Jim Quick – bass
Tricky Lane – drums and percussion

Temptation (1991)
01. Bad Boy
02. Temptation
03. Sexuality
04. Your Love
05. Storm Is Movin’ In
06. Vices
07. Please Oh Please
08. Paralyzed (By You)
09. Liquid Emotion
10. “1800” Ta Kill Ya Sunrise
11. Indiana Heart
12. Reckless
13. Mama Told Me Not To Come

Band Members:
Steven David DeLong – vocals
Jon Huffman – guitar and backing vocals
James Lee Thorpe – guitar, sitar and backing vocals
Tricky Lane – drums and percussion

The Lost Tapes (2007)
01. Hard Drivin’ Man
02. Blue Eyed Soul
03. Just One Kiss
04. My Body Needs Your Body
05. Nationwide
06. Cheap Wine And Gasoline
07. Shakin’ The Blues
08. Dancing By The Light Of The Moon
09. Rolling Stone

Band Members:
Steve DeLong – vocals
Jon Huffman – guitar
James Thorpe – guitar
Jim Quiggins – bass
Nick Lane – drums

Sweet F.A.‘s “Rhythm of Action” video (from Stick To Your Guns album):

Sweet F.A. – Rhythm of action

rock’n’roll should be fun and sexy:-)

Sweet F.A. performing “Heart of Gold” at reunion show in Louisville, Kentucky, USA on November 24, 2007:

Sweet F.A. – Heart of Gold

Reunion Show Louisville KY 11/24/07