Black Star Riders frontman Ricky Warwick releases video for track “You’re My Rock And Roll”

Black Star Riders frontman Ricky Warwick releases video for track “You’re My Rock And Roll”

Black Stack Riders and The Almighty frontman Ricky Warwick has just released his first solo studio album in five years via Nuclear Blast Records and it’s titled When Life Was Hard And Fast.

Track List for When Life Was Hard And Fast:
01. When Life Was Hard And Fast
02. You Don’t Love Me
03. I’d Rather Be Hit
04. Gunslinger
05. Never Corner A Rat
06. Time Don’t Seem To Matter
07. Fighting Heart
08. I Don’t Feel At Home
09. Still Alive
10. Clown of Misery
11. You’re My Rock N Roll

Track List for Stairwell Troubadour:
01. You Spin Me round (Like A Record) (Dead Or Alive cover)
02. Ooops!…I Did It Again (Britney Spears cover)
03. Summertime Blues (Eddie Cochran cover)
04. 1000 Dollar Car (Bottle Rockets cover)
05. Cocaine Blues (Johnny Cash cover)
06. I Don’t Want To Grow Up (Ramones cover)
07. I Fought The Law (The Clash cover)
08. Burning Love (Elvis Presley cover)
09. Jesus Loves You…But I Don’t (The Almighty cover)
10. Wrathchild (Iron Maiden cover)

Chipster PR and Consulting, Inc.‘s press release indicates:

Ricky comments on the release of his new album “This album is a statement of my intent, a love of rock n roll, songwriting and playing from the heart. The only way I know how. I’m so honored I now have the opportunity to share it with all of you!”

Buy the album on various formats, including a 2CD Digipack which includes the bonus covers album ‘Stairwell Troubadour‘, now from:



For the process of recording the album, Ricky was joined by Robert Crane (bass), Xavier Muriel (drums) and Keith Nelson (guitar) as well as a number of special guests including Def Leppard‘s Joe Elliott, Andy Taylor formerly of Duran Duran, Thunder‘s Luke Morley, Dizzy Reed of the mighty Guns ‘N Roses and even Ricky‘s daughter Pepper. Keith also produced the new album, having previously worked with Buckcherry, Blackberry Smoke and Alice CooperKeith noted that “Ricky is a true Rock-n-Roll soul… he’s got incredible stories to tell and a unique way of telling them. It’s been an honor to be asked to partner and contribute to this record.”

In a recent interview with Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, Warwick was asked how he ended up hooking up with former Buckcherry guitarist Keith Nelson for his solo album to which the singer replied:

“My friendship with Keith is fairly recent. I was aware of him and his work with Buckcherry. I met him for the first time in 2018. Damon Johnson was leaving the band and we needed someone to step into that role. We were looking for a guitarist and his name had come up and we met. We really hit it off. I asked him about the possibility of joining the band and he said, “Oh, I don’t want to join the band! I love the band, but I’m not looking at going back on the road.” I was disappointed and I asked him, “Well, then why did you agree to meet?” He said, “Oh, because I’m a fan of Thin Lizzy and a fan of Black Star Riders and I wanted to tell you face to face.” What a compliment.

So, I was disappointed, but that was the beginning of a great friendship. Things worked out and we got Christian Martucci, who turned out to be a great fit. When it came time to write songs for this record I thought of Keith and we got together to write songs. I have to say when we started writing for this record, we didn’t know each other very well, but I believe that when you get together to write, that’s when you get to know people. I think it forged the friendship. There was chemistry there. We wrote 12 songs in all, 11 made the album. The first song we wrote was “Fighting Heart.” We recorded the 12 songs but used 11. We must have had a total of 25 song ideas that weren’t used. Keith played guitar and produced the album and was an integral part of the album. We worked on the sequencing together and I think it turned out great.”

Ricky Warwick‘s “You’re My Rock And Roll” video: