Cherry St.’s album ‘Squeeze It Dry’ re-issued by Perris Records

Cherry St.’s album ‘Squeeze It Dry’ re-issued by Perris Records

Cherry St. consisting of Chris VanDahl on vocals, Todd “Taz” Anthony and Tom “Monroe” Mathers on guitar, Redd Rosell on bass and Tom “Kelly James” Dobrentey on drums have had their album Squeeze It Dry re-issued by Perris Records.

Track List for re-issued Squeeze It Dry:
01. No Doubt About
02. Jenn
03. Cherry Street
04. Sure Was Fine
05. Mary Goes Round
06. Ah!
07. Whisky
08. Ring Around The Rosie
09. Here I Come
10. Shake Down Sally
11. Speak No Evil
12. Ahhh!

Perris Records‘ website indicates (with slight edits):

“This “Squeeze It Dry” CD is a re-issue of the 1993 JRS/BMG release featuring all new artwork. After the re-issue of the “self-titled” release selling out in a few weeks, Perris Records has decided to re-issue the “Squeeze It Dry” CD. This CD has Erik Turner (Warrant), Tommy Thayer (KISS, Black ‘N Blue) and Pat Regan (KISS, Deep Purple, Shotgun Messiah) producing two tracks “No Doubt” and “Whisky”, and Pat Regan remixing previous tracks on the band’s “self-titled” release that are included on this release.


Cherry St. was formed in California by Michigan natives Tom ‘Monroe’ Mathers and Don ‘Spinner’ Korbecki in 1989 after recruiting Chris VanDahl on vocals and Todd “Taz”  Anthony on guitar also from Michigan. Within a year, Cherry St. released a three song demo distributed by Important/Relativity that sold over 8,000 units worldwide. MTV also featured Cherry St. on the “Pay To Play” segment with members of Guns N’ Roses, Bang Tango and Warrant. Jaimie Scott on bass guitar and Marc Razzle on drums were brought in right after releasing the three song demo to start headlining Gazzari’s, Whisky, Troubadour, and the Roxy on the Hollywood Strip. Legendary Bill Gazzari presented Cherry St. the first colored star for Gazzari’s. Many bands like Bang Tango and Razzle (now Lit) also received stars.

In 1990, Cherry St. was offered to tour Texas and soon after, garnered a great response from packed shows and hundreds of fans showing up to the in-store meet and greets. More tours were booked in 29 states from Boston, Florida and all the way to Hawaii and sharing the bill with such bands as Dangerous Toys, Foreigner, Warrant, April Wine, Vince Neil, Slaughter, Pretty Boy Floyd, and Sweet F.A.. Cherry St. achieved many goals such as being the only unsigned band to have Music Plus Chain Stores feature 24″ x 36″ full color posters and flats in all the stores in southern California to promote their three song tape distributed by Important/Relativivity. Many Tower Records also featured the full color posters and flats in stores around southern California. Also in 1990, Cherry St. recorded a home video with many fans and celebrities and featuring the first video “The Walk’  with cameos like Bon Jovi, Sam Kinison (RIP), Tracii Guns, Jani Lane (RIP), Bret Michaels, CC Deville, and Lemmy (RIP).

In 1991, Kelly James replaced Razzle on drums and the band headed out on a US tour. In 1992, Jaime Scott joined Tyketto and he was replaced by Redd Rosell. Soon after the “self-titled” was released, Cherry St. signed with JRS/BMG to release “Squeeze It Dry“. JRS Records had the Stray Cats and Asia on their roster. Rikki Rockett offered to record Cherry St. at his studio, but because Sass Jordan and Motorhead were still in his studio, we would have not made the release date for a summer tour. At a past Roxy club show in Hollywood, Erik Turner and Joey Allen from Warrant introduced Cherry St.. The band kept in touch with Erik Turner and he had a production company with Tommy Thayer (KISS, Black ‘N Blue) so they were brought in to produce “Squeeze It Dry“. Erik and Tommy had worked with Pat Regan (KISS, Deep Purple, Shotgun Messiah) so it made perfect sense to finish “Squeeze It Dry” with Pat Regan recording and mixing the CD in his studio.

In 1994, Tom ‘Monroe’ Mathers fired up Perris Records full-time working with many of the 80’s MTV bands and future stars in the indie rock scene. Twenty eight years later, the label is still going strong and will carry on for many more years.”

Cherry Street‘s “Whisky” single: