Chip Z’Nuff Gears Up For First Solo Album Release With “Rockstar” Video

Chip Z’Nuff Gears Up For First Solo Album Release With “Rockstar” Video

January 27, 2015

On February 3rd Deadline Music (an imprint of Cleopatra Records) will release ‘Strange Time’, the first solo album by Chip Z’Nuff. The ten track record marks a departure from the trademark Enuff Z’Nuff trip-pop sound, with heavier guitars and more psychedelic elements. In addition to special guest appearances, the album includes a bonus five track EP collaboration with Steven Adler (formerly of Guns N’ Roses).

“It’s a stoner rock record,” said Z’Nuff, matter-of-factly. “What I have with Enuff Z’Nuff is special, but this is a labor of love. I started these songs while going through every type of hard time — family, finances, relationships — and found moments of clarity while writing.”

Z’Nuff also called on some tour buddies and long-time friends to guest on the record. Having played bass for both Dale Bozzio (Missing Persons) and Adler (Adler’s Appetite), Z’Nuff knew they’d contribute something truly unique (Z’Nuff calls Adler’s drumming “incendiary”). Home state legend and Cheap Trick singer Robin Zander lends his pipes to “All Day And All Of The Night” while Geezer Butler’s son, Biff, sings on “Rockstar”.

‘Strange Time’ was recorded at Chicago Recording Company in Chicago and Abbey Road Studios in London. Brendan Jeffrey produced all tracks except “Rockstar” (Johnny K) and “Strange Time” (Rick Rubin). Performers include Z’Nuff (vocals, guitar, bass), Steven Adler (drums, percussion), Biff Butler, James Morrison Jr., Steve Ramone, Sir Ashley Scott, Robin Zander, and Scott Faukes. The EP was recorded at Chicago Recording Company and Chip Z’Nuff Studios in Blue Island, Illinois. Brendan Jeffrey produced, Jeff Luif mixed, and Bob Ludwig mastered. Z’Nuff and Adler performed all the music, with Bozzio on vocals and a Slash sample solo on “Tonight We Met”.

In addition to a career in broadcasting as a go-to guest on Howard Stern’s radio show and co-host of Mancow TV, Chip Z’Nuff is writing his autobiography — it will chronicle, in part, his three decades in Enuff Z’Nuff. In 1989, Enuff Z’Nuff released their self-titled debut, and the hit singles “New Thing” and “Fly High Michelle”, which earned them the first of two gold records, huge credibility in the music video landscape, and legions of fans from the pop, rock, hippie, metal, and glam communities. Rolling Stone, David Letterman, and Howard Stern have all been continued vocal supporters of the band. A new record of Enuff Z’Nuff originals is planned for 2015.

‘Strange Time’ track listing:
Strange Time
Still Love Your Face
Anna Nichole
Strike Three
Hello To The Drugs
All Day And All Of The Night (featuring Robin Zander and Steven Adler)

Bonus EP: Chip Z’Nuff and Steven Adler
My Town
Yesterday (Another Wasted Day)
The Game
Tonight We Met (And Now We’re Going To Fuck) (featuring Slash and Dale Bozzio)
The Pain Is All On You

Courtesy of