Coney Hatch’s live album ‘Postcard From Germany’ to be bundled w/ remastered edition of debut record

Coney Hatch’s live album ‘Postcard From Germany’ to be bundled w/ remastered edition of debut record

Canadian rockers Coney Hatch consisting of lead vocalist / guitarist Carl Dixon, lead vocalist / bassist Andy Curran, drummer Dave Ketchum and guitarist Sean Kelly have a special treat for people who will be purchasing their new live album Postcard From Germany since it will be bundled with an extra CD consisting of a remastered edition of their debut self-titled record. Postcard From Germany will officially be released via Anthem Records on September 22, 2023.

Track List for Postcard From Germany:
01. It’s About A Girl (Studio 2022)
02. Heaven’s On The Other Side (Studio 2022)
03. We Got The Night
04. Stand Up
05. Blown Away
06. Boys Club
07. She’s Gone
08. This Ain’t Love
09. Wrong Side of Town
10. Girl From Last Nights Dream
11. Fantasy
12. Fallen Angel
13. Don’t Say Make Me
14. Devil’s Deck
15. Monkey Bars

Chipster PR & Consulting, Inc.‘s press release indicates in part (with slight edits):

Coney Hatch, one of Canada’s iconic rock bands will release a live album titled “Postcard From Germany” on September 22 via Anthem Records. In celebration of this release, Coney Hatch will perform their final two live performances of 2023 at the famed El Mocambo in Toronto on September 22nd and at an already sold out co-headlining show with Kim Mitchell at the Rivera Theatre in Buffalo the following night. Mitchell produced Coney Hatch’s debut album, so this will undoubtedly be a special moment for the band to share the stage 40 years after the album’s release.

“We’ve been halfway around the world this summer with shows at Sweden Rock and Hamburg, Germany,” says singer/bassist Andy Curran. “So returning to the El Mocambo is a special homecoming for us. We love playing in Toronto, it’s where we began this ride, and it’s a perfect time to celebrate 40 years together.”

Recorded on December 12, 2018 at HEAT Festival in Ludwigsburg, “Postcard from Germany” is a live recording of Coney Hatch’s 1st-ever live show in Germany.

“It was our very first time in Germany and the show was electric,” recalls Curran. “It was full on combat rock!!! We flew many hours to get there and quickly settled in with German beers and Schnitzel. The final results were more raw and in your face compared to previous live recordings. We also included more songs from our ‘Friction’ record in that set list”.

Postcard from Germany” features almost all of the expected Coney classics “Devil’s Deck”, “Monkey Bars” and “Stand Up” as well as two newly-recorded studio tunes ‘It’s About A Girl” and “Heaven’s On The Other Side”.

“This album has a different set list from the ‘Live at the El Mocambo’ record, plus two new studio tracks we recorded over Covid. I produced those two new songs and it marks the first time guitarist Sean Kelly has been involved with recording of new Hatch songs. Sean stepped in to the lead guitar role in 2014 and we’re proud to have him.” In addition to Curran and Kelly, the group also includes original members lead vocalist/guitarist Carl Dixon and drummer Dave Ketchum.

Regarding the two new tracks, the band was willing to give background info about each. Curran: “‘Heaven’s On the Other Side’ was written around the time we recorded ‘Coney Hatch Four,’ and we finally got around to finishing it during the lockdown. The message is simple…keep the faith and trudge on through the bad times because the good times are always just around the corner. I also felt I was long overdue to write another song about the devil!!”

Dixon: “I had an idea driving ‘It’s About a Girl’; women are wonderful, women got the power, women gave every one of us our life. We men will do anything to get their attention. It’s Always About A Girl.”

Along with the ripping live set recording, and 2 new unreleased tracks, ‘Postcard From Germany’ album will be bundled with a remastered edition of the band’s iconic debut record Coney Hatch, produced by Canada’s favorite vocalist/guitarist Kim Mitchell.

This special edition 2 disk CD will only be available for purchase at the band’s live shows and on their website.

Tickets and VIP M&G’s to the Toronto show are on sale now and can be purchased here.”

Coney Hatch‘s “It’s About A Girl” video: