Damn Yankees’ ‘Don’t Tread’ album remastered via Rock Candy Records

Damn Yankees’ ‘Don’t Tread’ album remastered via Rock Candy Records

Damn Yankees‘ sophomore album Don’t Tread featuring guitarist Ted Nugent, former Styx frontman Tommy Shaw and Night Ranger singer / bassist Jack Blades has been remastered and is now available via Rock Candy Records.

Track List for remastered Don’t Tread:
01. Don’t Tread On Me
02. Fifteen Minutes of Fame
03. Where You Goin’ Now
04. Dirty Dog
05. Mister Please
06. Silence Is Broken
07. Firefly
08. Someone To Believe
09. This Side of Hell
10. Double Coyote
11. Uprising
Bonus Tracks:
12. Where You Goin’ Now (live)
13. High Enough (live)

Rock Candy Records‘ website indicates in part (with slight edits):

“Whilst supergroups were all the rage in the ‘70s and ‘80s, few of them actually delivered meaningful results. In the case of ‘90’s supergroup Damn Yankees, this was not the case, as the combined explosive talents of guitar hero Ted Nugent, former Styx vocalist and guitarist Tommy Shaw, Night Ranger bassist and vocalist Jack Blades and drummer Michael Cartellone not only made an enticing proposition on paper but also actually delivered a hugely convincing musical statement. Their self-titled debut album was a massive commercial and creative success, achieving double platinum status in North America alone, elevating the band to a level that few would have confidently expected.

Don’t Tread’, the band’s second and final album, was issued in September 1992 to huge anticipation. Sadly, however, the expectation of another blockbuster release was rudely frustrated when the album failed to connect with their fan base and the wider public. Despite the album’s obvious depth and quality, it was clear that something was amiss, mainly because the musical climate was in a state of flux, switching allegiance from traditional melodic hard rock towards the raw sound of grunge. It was an erosion of belief that served to cripple a number of well-respected artists, not just Damn Yankees.

Despite seeing this cloud of doom on the horizon, the band remained on-message and recorded their second album in a positive spirit, crafting a record that was every inch a worthy successor to the debut. Produced once again by Ron Nevison (Heart, Led Zeppelin, UFO), and mixed superbly by Chris Lord-Alge, it was recorded in Los Angeles and showcases a magnificent selection of songs, including the title track, ‘Where You Goin’ Now’ (a top 20 US hit single), ‘Dirty Dog’ and ‘Firefly’. All tracks displaying grit, determination and a desire to impress.”

Special Deluxe Collector’s Edition. Fully remastered sound shaped from 24 BIT digital technology, features 2 bonus tracks, contains ‘Where You Goin’ Now’, ‘Dirty Dog’ and ‘Firefly’, 12 page full colour booklet – 3,500 word essay and enhanced artwork

Damn Yankees‘ “Don’t Tread On Me” video: