Def Leppard Kicking Off New Album With TV Performances


April 24, 2008

Def Leppard is set to debut their 14th studio album release this coming Tuesday, April 29th. Songs From The Sparkle Lounge contains 11 new songs including the new hit single “Nine Lives,” featuring a groundbreaking collaboration with country music superstar Tim McGraw.

The song is currently sitting atop the Classic Rock chart at #1 and also holding at #14 on Mainstream Rock radio. The band will kick off the release of their new album with a slew of high profile television performances on ABC’s Dancing With The Stars (April 29th), Jimmy Kimmel Live (April 30th), and The Ellen Degeneres (April 29th).

Songs From The Sparkle Lounge will include a limited edition custom PIKCARD(r), which unlocks the Def Leppard online “Vault” (named after the band’s best-selling greatest-hits CD). Inside the “Vault,” Def Leppard fans will have exclusive access to a variety of content, contests and memorabilia, featuring highlights such as personal photos from the road, registration to the band’s fan club, entry into an exclusive contest to win backstage passes and VIP access the next time Def Leppard comes to the winner’s town, new album lyrics – handwritten by Joe Elliott- and a personal messages from the band.

Recorded last year during month-long stints at lead singer Joe Elliott’s Dublin studio, the album’s title refers to a backstage area called “The Sparkle Lounge” on Def Leppard’s 2006 tour where the band would go to write songs. In addition to the album’s hit single “Nine Lives,” other standout tracks on the album include “C’mon C’mon,” which will be the album’s next single, “Go,” reminiscent of the band’s classic track “Rocket” in its power and aggressive tribal beat; “Love,” an emotive and moving epic song; and the anthemic “Tomorrow,” a song written by guitarist Collen about the death of his father.

Def Leppard have also announced new US tour dates that will kick off this August. The dates include cities that the band postponed recently due to an upper respiratory tract infection affecting the band’s lead singer, Joe Elliott. New Def Leppard tour dates include:

August 1 Nashville, TN Sommet Center
August 2 Birmingham, AL Verizon Wireless Center
August 3 Biloxi, MS Mississippi Coast Coliseum
August 6 Hamilton, ON Copps Coliseum
August 7 London, ON John Labatt Centre
August 9 Quebec City, QC Colisee Pepsi
August 10 Ottawa, ON Scotiabank Place
August 13 Winnipeg, MB MTS Centre
August 15 Grand Rapids, MI Van Andel Arena
August 16 Des Moines, IA Iowa State Fair
August 17 Omaha, NE Qwest Center
August 20 Ft. Wayne, IN Memorial Coliseum
August 21 Youngstown, OH Chevrolet Centre
August 23 Detroit, MI Joe Louis Arena
August 24 Syracuse, NY New York State Fair

Watch the video for Def Leppard’s new song Nine Lives, featuring country superstar Tim McGraw, below.

Courtesy of