Def Leppard planning on releasing just mixed live performance in Oxford, England from 1980

Def Leppard planning on releasing just mixed live performance in Oxford, England from 1980

Great news for fans of early Def Leppard material as the UK rockers are planning on releasing a just mixed live performance from “Oxford Theatre” back in 1980, which included guitarist Pete Willis in the line-up.

In an interview with Eddie Trunk‘s Sirius XM show, Def Leppard frontman Joe Elliott advised (as transcribed by Ultimate Classic Rock with slight edits): “We thought about this about a year and a half ago, and there’s going to be a celebratory release… I don’t know how much of this I can say right now. I might be breaking protocol. But I will say this much: There’s a companion piece to On Through The Night, there’s a brand-new, just-mixed live performance from the Oxford Theatre in 1980 … which has never been heard ever.”

Elliott added: “It’s warts and all, it is what it is… It’s us live in 1980. We were discussing off-mic … about lip-syncing or overdubbing … You can’t have it. You can’t expect a 59-year old me to go in and clean up a 20-year old vocal. You know what I mean? So, it is what it is. But I tell you this much: The band, as I said in the liner notes, when you peer through the curtain of uncertainty that my voice was back in those days, there is a fantastic band onstage. And the two-arm Rick Allen with [bassist Rick Savage] was some rhythm section to come, considering he was 16 years old and Sav was 17, I think, maybe 18. And Pete [Willis] and Steve [Clark] were 17 and 18 years old. It was some band.”

You can read the rest of the article at Ultimate Classic Rock.

The setlist for Def Leppard‘s gig at the New Theatre in Oxford, England back on April 26, 1980 as per consists of the entire 11 songs from the album On Through The Night (1980), two from the forthcoming record High ‘n’ Dry (1981), the song “Good Morning Freedom” (which was a B-side to “Hello America”) and the track “Medicine Man” which became “Rock! Rock! (Till You Drop) and which appeared on Pyromania (1983).

Def Leppard’s setlist on April 26, 1980 (as per
01. When The Walls Came Tumbling Down
02. It Could Be You
03. Rock Brigade
04. Satellite
05. Medicine Man
06. Let It Go
07. Answer To The Master
08. Sorrow Is A Woman
09. Good Morning Freedom (with drum solo)
10. It Don’t Matter
11. Lady Strange
12. Overture
13. Rocks Off
14. Hello America
15. Wasted

Def Leppard‘s “Let It Go” video:

Def Leppard – Let It Go

Pre-order the new album here: Listen to all the hits: Def LeppardOfficial websit…