Demolition 23.’s debut self-titled album featuring Michael Monroe to be reissued with three bonus tracks

Demolition 23.’s debut self-titled album featuring Michael Monroe to be reissued with three bonus tracks

Demolition 23. consisting of frontman Michael Monroe, bassist Sami Yaffa, guitarist Jay Hening and drummer Jimmy Clark will have their debut self-titled album reissued with three bonus tracks on October 14, 2022.

Track List for reissued Demolition 23.:
01. Nothin’s Alright
02. Hammersmith Palais
03. The Scum Lives On
04. Dysfunctional
05. Ain’t Nothin’ to Do
06. I Wanna Be Loved
07. You Crucified Me
08. Same Shit Different Day
09. Endangered Species
10. Deadtime Stories
Bonus tracks:
11. Hammersmith Palais (Demo)
12. Dysfunctional (Demo)
13. The Scum Lives On (Demo)

Earshot Media‘s press release indicates in part:

Stevie Van Zandt‘s Wicked Cool Records has announced plans to reissue the sole album from Demolition 23., digitally for the first time ever, and on CD + ‘Blue Smoke’ vinyl, on October 14. The band, which formed in NYC in 1993, consisted of former Hanoi Rocks frontman Michael Monroe, ex-Star Star guitarist Jay Hening, Monroe‘s Hanoi Rocks bandmate Sami Yaffa on bass, and Jimmy Clark on drums.

Demolition 23.‘ (which had a limited release in 1994, but has since been out of print for years) was produced by Van Zandt, and features collaborative songwriting efforts between Monroe, Van Zandt, and Jude Wilder, and one track (“Deadtime Stories”) co-written by Monroe/Stiv Bators. The album, a return to the members’ punk roots, also includes covers by Monroe’s influences and friends, including Stiv Bators (“Ain’t Nothin’ To Do”) and Johnny Thunders (“I Wanna Be Loved”). Many of the songs from the record have become staples in Monroe’s live sets, which recently have included festivals and a stint opening for Alice Cooper.

The digital and CD release of ‘Demolition 23.’ includes all of the original songs, along with 3 bonus demos. See track listing below. The physical versions of the album include a booklet with photos and liner notes from Monroe, detailing each song — with additional notes written by all of the living band members. The vinyl also includes a download card for the bonus tracks. The band’s logo was designed by Yaffa, who continues to play with Monroe to this day.

In advance of the self-titled album’s re-release, a track titled “Hammersmith Palais” has been released to streaming sites, along with a demo version of the song.

“The Demolition 23. album is one of my favorite albums of my career and definitely one of the best.”- Michael Monroe

“Me and Michael were talking about how much we missed the original Punk music of the Ramones and Dead Boys and Sex Pistols and Clash and decided to do an album in that spirit.”- Stevie Van Zandt

Demolition 23.’s “Hammersmith Palais” single: