Details on reissued Warrant albums ‘Cherry Pie’ and ‘Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich’

Details on reissued Warrant albums ‘Cherry Pie’ and ‘Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich’

Rock Candy Records have announced that they will be releasing reissued versions of Warrant‘s classic albums Cherry Pie and Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich.

NEH Records has the following details for both reissued albums:

Warrant’s reissued Cherry Pie album:

“Fully Remastered Audio – Double Platinum album from LA’s finest – 5 Bonus tracks – 16 page full-colour booklet, 4000 word essay about the making of the album with new interview, enhanced artwork and unseen photos. If you applied a microscope to the late 80s American hard rock scene, looking for one pivotal song that encompassed the period, then you’d be hard pressed to get past ‘Cherry Pie’, a track that was all conquering at the time, firmly establishing itself as one of the era’s calling cards. With MTV embracing the accompanying video, and US radio elevating the track into overdrive, WARRANT could do no wrong and deservedly so. Emerging out of the Los Angeles Sunset Strip hotbed, the band initially struggled to gain a foothold, but eventually attracted major management and a coveted contract with industry heavyweight Columbia records.

Their debut album surpassed expectations, and produced a #2 hit single, spring boarding sales way in excess of gold status. The scene was set for their sophomore album but nobody was ready for the explosion of success that followed. ‘Cherry Pie’, once again produced by veteran studio wizard Beau Hill (Winger, RATT, KIX) and originally issued in 1990, launched the band to even bigger success; the title track becoming one of the most played songs of the year and a virtual prime time MTV staple. In addition, the band’s front man Jani Lane had become a poster boy for the movement, with his, and the band’s, faces splattered over virtually every music magazine around. Musically the album was far superior to their debut and decidedly heavier, featuring such brazen rockers as ‘Uncle Tom’s Cabin’, ‘Love In Stereo’ and, of course, the superbly crafted title track.”

Track List for reissued Cherry Pie:
01. Cherry Pie
02. Uncle Tom’s Cabin
03. I Saw Red
04. Bed Of Roses
05. Sure Feels Good To me
06. Love In Stereo
07. Blind Faith
08. Song And Dance Man
09. You’re The Only Hell You’re Mama Ever Raised
10. Mr. Rainmaker
11. Train Train
12. Ode To Tipper Gore
13. Game Of War (previously unreleased demo track)
14. The Power (demo bonus track)
15. Thin Disguise (bonus track)
16. I Saw Red (acoustic bonus track)
17. Cherry Pie (single version)

Warrant’s Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich:

“Fully Remastered Audio – Platinum album from LA’s finest – 16 page full-colour booklet, 4000 word essay about the making of the album with new interview, enhanced artwork and unseen photos. As one of the main movers and shakers of the Los Angeles Sunset Strip rock scene during the late 80s, WARRANT made a huge impact at every level, helping to define not only a musical movement but also establishing a commercial breakthrough that astounded the naysayers. It was a golden time for not only the music of the era but also WARRANT directly, whose presence on MTV was virtually permanent. Like most bands, the formation of WARRANT mutated through a number of line ups, but it eventually settled to feature vocalist Jani Lane, an appointment that ignited the band’s creativity and placed them on the path to gold and glory.

But it wasn’t an easy ride, with a number of setbacks frustrating progress, including a brief encounter with the Prince‘s Paisley Park organisation which bankrolled a demo that then received a number of rejections from most record labels. Eventually however, with the help of major management, the band signed to Columbia records and commenced their rise to stardom. Originally issued in January 1989, the album was produced by Beau Hill (RATT, KIX, Winger etc) and set in motion a rapid rise to fame, which came as little surprise to those who had been following the band from the sidelines. The compelling production, trademark riffs and Lane‘s superb vocals elevated the songs to another level. ‘Down Boys’ the first track to radio accelerated sales and the ballad ‘Heaven’ made it to #1 on the US singles chart, giving them sales upwards of double platinum.”

Track List for reissued Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich:
01. 32 Pennies In A Ragu Jar
02. Down Boys
03. Big Talk
04. Sometimes She Cries
05. So Damn Pretty
06. D.R.F.S.R.
07. In The Sticks
08. Heaven
09. Ridin’ High
10. Cold Sweat