Dio to release ‘Ten Years Of Dio: 1983-1993’

Dio to release ‘Ten Years Of Dio: 1983-1993’

Dio will be releasing the box set Ten Years Of Dio: 1983-1993, which consists of the band’s first six studio albums remastered, on July 22, 2016.

The following message was posted on Ronnie James Dio‘s Facebook page yesterday (with slight edits):

We are pleased to announce A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993, a new boxed set featuring remastered versions of the group’s first six studio albums, will be available on July 22. Featuring new artwork by Marc Sasso, the collection includes the group’s platinum-selling debut album, Holy Diver (1983), The Last In Line (1984), Sacred Heart (1985), Dream Evil (1987), Lock Up The Wolves (1990), and Strange Highways (1993).

Dio CD coverPre-order your CD copy now: http://smarturl.it/DecadeofDioCD
Coming soon on CD and then VINYL.
More details in the full press-release here:
A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993
Dio’s First Six Studio Albums Have Been Remastered For
New Boxed Set That Features Some Of Metal’s Most Legendary Albums
Available From Rhino On July 22

Los Angeles – Ronnie James Dio’s sinister howl and wicked songcraft bewitched hard rock fans in the Seventies and Eighties during his memorable stints with Elf, Rainbow, and Black Sabbath. In 1983, the singer formed his own band, launching a successful solo career that led to 10 studio albums and sales of more than 10 million records around the world.

Rhino follows Dio through the band’s early years with A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993, a new boxed set that brings together the group’s first six studio albums, each one featuring newly remastered sound. It includes: Holy Diver (1983), The Last In Line (1984), Sacred Heart (1985), Dream Evil (1987), Lock Up The Wolves (1990), and Strange Highways (1993).

Dio photoRhino will release two versions of with A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993, first on CD and then on vinyl. Both versions come housed in boxes featuring new artwork by Marc Sasso, who was responsible for many of the band’s iconic covers. The CD set will debut on July 22 for a list price of $34.98.

The vinyl incarnation of the set will be available on October 4 for $99.98, and comes with a bonus 7” single. On the first side is the 1983 version of “Evil Eyes,” which was originally released as the b-side on the “Holy Diver” single. In addition, this version is different from the one featured on the 1984 album The Last In Line. The flip side features “Time To Burn,” which was the only studio track featured on the otherwise live release, Intermission (1986).

After two albums with Black Sabbath, Ronnie James Dio left in 1982 and formed Dio with fellow Sabbath band mate Vinny Appice on drums. The group’s platinum-selling debut Holy Diver arrived in 1983 and is now revered as a heavy metal masterpiece, including two songs that would become rock signatures: the title track and the epic “Rainbow In The Dark.”

The band returned the following year with The Last In Line (1984), which became the band’s second platinum seller and included the single “Mystery,” as well as “We Rock,” a song the band often used to close its shows. Sacred Heart (1985) achieved gold certification and introduced fans to the concert staple “Rock ’n’ Roll Children.” Dio’s fourth studio album, Dream Evil (1987) included the singles “All The Fools Sailed Away” and “I Could Have Been A Dreamer.”

Ronnie James DioIn the Nineties, the group released two more stellar studio albums. Lock Up The Wolves arrived in 1990 and featured the single “Hey Angel” and rocking title track. Following a brief reunion with Black Sabbath in 1992, Dio returned with Strange Highways in 1993. The album featured future fan favorites like “Jesus, Mary and The Holy Ghost,” “Evilution,” and the title track.

Although Ronnie James Dio lost his battle with stomach cancer in 2010, his towering voice and legacy live on. The Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund, co-founded by Wendy Dio, is a non-profit 501(c)(3) charitable fund dedicated to supporting cancer-prevention research, raising awareness and educating the public about the vital importance of early detection and prevention when dealing with this deadly disease.

For more information about A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993, please contact Jason Elzy in the Rhino Media Relations Department at jason.elzy@rhino.com or 818-238-6220.

A DECADE OF DIO: 1983-1993 Album Listing
Holy Diver (1983)
The Last In Line (1984)
Sacred Heart (1985)
Dream Evil (1987)
Lock Up The Wolves (1990)
Strange Highways (1993)