Dirtbag Republic To Release Debut Record In September 2015

Dirtbag Republic to release debut record in September 2015

Dirtbag Republic‘s debut album will be out this September on DBC Records.

The band will be streaming its first single “No Reason For Loving You” on August 1, 2015.

Dirtbag Republic‘s bio states: “Dirtbag Republic started off as an idea to put the sleaze back in rock n’ roll with zero shtick. Vancouver rock veterans Sandy Hazard (vocals/drums) & Mick Wood (guitar) were up to the task. Wood and Hazard have been friends since the ’80s, when Hazard stole Wood from another group he saw at a local battle of the bands.

Years later, Hazard would call on Wood again when his then band Pretty Boy Floyd/Tommy Floyd (Canada) had just disbanded. The two were dismayed at the bandwagon grunge scene and had a vision to put together something that crossed Hanoi Rocks with the Ramones. Enter Grandma Moses, a freight train of a band that stormed the Vancouver scene, was featured in Metal Edge magazine and debut album released posthumously by Perris Records to critical acclaim. The band was also featured in Sleazegrinders Flash Metal Suicide.

After Grandma Moses imploded, Wood laid low in the scene surfacing now and then, and Hazard went on to play for 20 years with bubble punkers Mcrackins releasing 17 albums from labels around the globe. The band was featured on the legendary John Peel Show (BBC), MTV Europe, Much Music, Spin, Molson Canadian commercial and a feature film called Downhill Willy. The Mcrackins outlasted many of their contemporaries from the ’90s and consistently received critical acclaim for their albums.

Dirtbag Republic photo 2Enter Dirtbag Republic. Hazard had an unstoppable urge to create an old school dragging your ass through the gutter filth rock record, with zero filler. His first thought was to call Mick Wood to run it by him. Wood was fully onboard and the two soon began to work on 12 songs for what would soon become the album. Hazard also brought in former Pretty Boy Floyd/Tommy Floyd bassist Steve Bratz to lay down bass.

A year in the making, the debut Dirtbag Republic record has been recorded and will be ready for release this fall. It was mixed and mastered at Rain City Recorders in Vancouver, British Columbia by Stu McKillop who is a veteran of the Vancouver music scene. Dirtbag Republic is a modern non-stop aural assault, crossing influences such as Hanoi Rocks, Aerosmith, The Faces, Cheap Trick, Rolling Stones & New York Dolls. The borders are wide open to expand their nation of two.”

Sleaze Roxx had the following to say about the 2004 released record Too Little, Too Late from Hazard and Wood‘s prior band Grandma Moses: “Grandma Moses brought their in-your-face brand of punk-influenced sleaze rock to the streets of Vancouver in 1991. Too Little, Too Late essentially captures all of the band’s high and lows since their conception, and musically everything is short, aggressive and to the point. Glam fans may remember the name of drummer Sandy Hazard who was part of the original Pretty Boy Floyd (the version from Canada, not the L.A. Strip)…. Mean, nasty, dirty, short and to the point are words that can be used to explain Grandma Moses‘ sound. Political incorrectness like this is what every sleaze band should employ…”

Track listing for Dirtbag Republic’s upcoming new album:
01. Can You Feel It
02. I Have Nothing
03. I Don’t Believe
04. Sky Is Falling
05. Socialize
06. Give Me A Taste
07. Exits & Dangers
08. Leave The Lights On
09. No Reason For Loving You
10. Aloha Lover
11. Little Boys In Blue
12. Minister & The Angel

Band Website: