Dokken unveil video for new single “Fugitive” from upcoming album ‘Heaven Comes Down’

Dokken unveil video for new single “Fugitive” from upcoming album ‘Heaven Comes Down’

Dokken consisting of frontman and founder Don Dokken, guitarist Jon Levin, bassist Chris McGarvill and drummer BJ Zampa have unveiled a video for their first single “Fugitive” from their upcoming studio album Heaven Comes Down, which will be released via Silver Lining Music on October 27, 2023.

Track List for Heaven Comes Down:
01. Fugitive
02. Gypsy
03. Is It Me Or You?
04. Just Like A Rose
05. I’ll Never Give Up
06. Saving Grace
07. Over The Mountain
08. I Remember
09. Lost In You
10. Santa Fe

The YouTube caption for the video indicates in part:

“An unapologetic celebration of everything Dokken do best, yet now through a wiser and richer lens, Heaven Comes Down, the 13th studio album from the legendary American rockers, will be released on October 27, 2023 (Silver Lining Music).

“The long anticipated new Dokken album, ‘Heaven Comes Down’, is finally done and the first single is titled ‘Fugitive’!” declares Don Dokken. “The inspiration for the lyrics came from what seems to me to be an uncertain world these days. It’s an up-tempo Rokker as are many on the album. I don’t know what the future holds for our world, so I decided to take a step back and watch it all unfold… Yes, I guess I’ve become like many these days a fugitive from life. Hence the title!”

“The song rocks and the lyrics are self-explanatory,” continues Don, “like many songs I’ve written, it came to me late at night. Inspiration and pure stream of consciousness have always been the best formula for me when composing. It has that classic Dokken sound… A great song to blast when driving down the highway.”

Video directed by Chris Eyre (Dark Winds, Smoke Signals) at Meow Wolf in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Video by Tom Strickfaden.

You want to rock? Sink your teeth into ‘Fugitive’, which rides some shimmering guitar work courtesy of 20+ year member Jon Levin, and if you want ballads, head on over to ‘I’ll Never Give Up’, hanging on that Coliseum chorus, Levin laying down a landmark solo. The pattern of Heaven Comes Down never falters in delivering the goods on both sides of the fence. ‘Just Like A Rose’ brings the Pacific Coast Highway to desert plains with its smooth, effortlessly-driven gears, and ‘Saving Grace’ carries a mystical malevolence. But ‘Santa Fe’ is perhaps the most revealing with Don Dokken opening up with what amounts to a ‘life-moment biography’: a spartan acoustic arrangement allowing the rich yet road-driven vocals to frame what might well prove to be the defining moment of Dokken’s career.

Mixed by Kevin Shirley (Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Joe Bonamassa) and produced by Bill Palmer and Don Dokken, fans will love it, neutrals will be wonderfully surprised by some of the ingredients within Heaven Comes Down. Heaven Comes Down will be released on CD Digipak, 12” Vinyl Album in Black and colour variants, digital formats and special D2C products and bundles. Available to pre-order from August 8th 2023 here:

Dokken Upcoming Dates:
Saturday 19 August – Shoshone Bannock Casino Hotel – Chubbuck, ID
Wednesday 20 September – The Big E – West Springfield, MA
Saturday 14 October – RCU Theatre – Eau Claire, WI
Saturday 21 October – The Piazza – Aurora, IL
Saturday 11 November – Piere’s – Fort Wayne IN,
Friday 17 November – Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino – Las Vegas, NV
Saturday 18 November -Whisky A Go Go – West Hollywood, CA”

Dokken‘s “Fugitive” video: