Driver CD With Bob Rock And Roy Z Coming Soon

Driver CD With Bob Rock And Roy Z Coming Soon

March 11, 2012

Driver CD With Bob Rock And Roy Z Coming SoonThe worldwide release of Driver’s new album ‘Countdown’ is coming soon. The CD will be released on the same labels as Driver’s previous effort ‘Sons Of Thunder’, and available worldwide via AOR Metal Heaven (Europe), King Records (Japan), and RockZilla (USA).

‘Countdown’ is a mixture of brand new material and several rescued-from-the-vaults demo gems, which interlock seamlessly for a classic Driver-style album, aided by Roy Z’s emphasis on vintage production values that harken back to the glory days of early 80’s heavy metal ala Dio’s ‘Holy Diver’ and Ozzy Osbourne’s ‘Diary Of A Madman’.

Chiefly recorded and mixed at Roy Z’s California-based studio, Rob Rock and Roy Z once again joined forces with Butch Carlson, Ed Roth and Aaron Samson to cut the bulk of the tracks, with additional contributions coming from bassists Ray Burke (Life After Death, Bruce Dickinson) and Daniel Cordova (Shades Of Crimson, Vengeance Rising), as well as veteran vocalist Mark Boals (Yngwie Malmsteen, Royal Hunt). Mastering duties were again handled by Maor Appelbaum (Halford, Sepultura, Yngwie Malmsteen).

Driver is a classic heavy rock outfit that was formed in Los Angeles, California out of the ashes of Joshua and Gypsy Moreno. The band was one of the top local acts at the height of melodic hard rock in the late 1980’s and issued a widely circulated 5-song cassette EP demo in 1990 that garnered the band a dedicated worldwide following.

Driver was ultimately denied by major labels with the emergence of the grunge rock scene that dominated the musical landscape during the early 90’s, yet Driver has attained cult status as one of the most underrated hard rock acts of their time, and it has held steadfast throughout the years.

Since then, the two main writers and members of Driver — powerhouse vocalist Rob Rock and acclaimed guitarist/producer Roy Z — have forged ahead to garner long successful careers in the music business. Coming together to reform Driver in 2008, Rob Rock and Roy Z finally got the chance to release the album they intended to deliver back when, 2008’s ‘Sons Of Thunder’ — available for purchase at

‘Countdown’ Track Listing:
01. Return to the Sky
02. Rising Son
03. Countdown
04. Hollywood Shooting Star
05. Thief in the Night
06. Cry of the Wounded
07. Always on my Mind
08. Feel the Fire
09. Destiny
10. Running from the Darkness

Courtesy of