Electric Boys Aiming For April Release Of New Album

Electric Boys Aiming For April Release Of New Album

February 7, 2014

The Electric Boys will be releasing a new single called “Spaced Out” shortly, with a full-length studio album to follow in April via Ninetone Records. Details on the follow-up to 2011’s ‘And Them Boys Done Swang’ are scarce, but the band promise ‘a video and a very, very special one-off surprise’ in the near future.

The forthcoming album’s first single, “Dancing On My Own”, was released digitally in October of last year and promoted with an appearance on Swedish Television’s SVT.

Electric Boys was formed 1988 in Stockholm, Sweden by Conny Bloom (guitar and vocals) and Andy Christell (bass) and were soon joined by Franco Santunione (guitar) and Niclas Sigevall (drums). In 1989 they released their critically acclaimed debut ‘Funk-O-Metal Carpet Ride’ and had a hit song right away with the track “All Lips N’ Hips”. ‘Funk-O-Metal Carpet Ride’ was later released internationally, including five new songs produced by monster-producer Bob Rock (Metallica, Motley Crue). Electric Boys toured tenaciously in Europe and in the U.S. where they were climbing the Billboard list while “All Lips N’ Hips” was set on heavy rotation on MTV.

The follow-up album ‘Groovus Maximus’ was released in 1992 and the single “Mary In The Mystery World” became a huge radio hit. The album was recorded in the legendary “Beatles studio” Abbey Road in London and the band continued touring mainly in the U.S.A., Great Britain and Sweden.

In 1994, the album ‘Freewheelin’ was released and the members decided to dissolve the band soon after with a farewell concert in their hometown of Stockholm.

After four years playing with Hanoi Rocks, Conny Bloom and Andy Christell decided to reunite Electric Boys, with the original line-up, in the beginning of 2009. During the fall of 2010 the band went into studio to record their first album since 1994. The resulting album, ‘And Them Boys Done Swang’, was released in Scandinavia and Japan in April, 2011, and the rest of Europe in late May.

Courtesy of www.sleazeroxx.com