Glenn Hughes Goes ‘F.U.N.K.’ On His New Album


March 13, 2008

Frontiers Records is pleased to present all the details about the release of the highly anticipated GLENN HUGHES new album entitled “First Underground Nuclear Kitchen (F.U.N.K.)” on May 11th 2008.

Glenn Hughes - First Underground Nuclear Kitchen

Produced by Glenn in Los Angeles, after countless hours spent writing in his home studio, “F.U.N.K.” is another magnificent statement from the “Voice of Rock”. “It is a roots album, it is a true account of my musical heritage but also fearless and multi-dimensional”. Once again Glenn has reinvented himself and his art, being able to offer a new album which is truly emotional and picturing his own current way to speak the language of music.

“The beauty of makin’ music, for me”, explains the former Deep Purple and singer and bassist, “is to have a vast blank canvas. To completely open myself up to the universe and the spirits, that these days, live with me day and night. I am no longer in fear of the dark, or what lurks behind door number 13. The songs on my new album were written in, and around my Los Angeles home, sometimes in semi-consciousness… sometimes, in a dreamstate, sometimes fully alert, as I was in full jog down by the harbour… these new songs are a true vindication. And realization, of the gift of a serene life, one day at a time”.

The result is a brilliant balance of the diverse influences that have always been present in Glenn’s music, but with an incredible and very addictive mood that helps creating a feeling of joy and true enjoyment all over the album. “I believe that the hard work has been worth waitin’ 4, this is 4 all my fans, and beyond: a deep Musical Statement”, concludes Glenn.

Glenn Hughes

Once again all drums on the record were played by none other than the great Chad Smith of the RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, while Luis Maldonado took care of the majority of the guitars (JJ Marsh and George Nastos only appear on 2 songs each) and Anders Olinder is on keyboards (with Ed Roth guesting on 3 songs).

Final tracklisting of “F.U.N.K.” includes the following tracks (click on the song title to hear a sample):
First Underground Nuclear Kitchen
Love Communion
We Shall Be Free
Never Say Never
We Go To War
Oil And Water
Too Late to Save the World
Where There’s A Will

Glenn has just finished shooting a promo video for the fist single “Love Communion” which will be included on the cd as special bonus: stay tuned for an exclusive preview on Youtube soon !His forthcoming World tour has also been announced, with the following dates:

March 2008
13 Childline Rocks [UK] London
28 Boathouse Theatre [NOR] Fredrikstad
29 Namsos Rockfestival [NOR] Namsos

April 2008
4 Forum Palace [LIT] Vilnius
5 Bronx [BLR] Minsk
8 Concert hall Sadi Pobedi [UKR] Odessa

May 2008
9 Lillehammer Rock W/E [NOR] Lillehammer
10 Smuget [NOR] Oslo
11 Smuget [NOR] Oslo
13 Spectrum [GER] Augsburg
15 Zeche [GER] Bochum
16 Musiktheater Rex [GER] Lorsch
19 Retro Music Hall [CZ] Prague
20 Masters Of Rock Cafe [CZ] Zlin
22 A38 [HUN] Budapest
23 Divadlo Arena [SK] Bratislava
24 Media Park [SI] Ljubljana
26 Teatro Fanin [ITA] Bologna
27 Music Drome [ITA] Milan
28 Z7 [SWI] Pratteln
30 Spirit Of 66 [BEL] Verviers
31 Boerderij [NED] Zoetermeer

June 2008
1 Plato [NED] Helmond
3 (venue TBC) [ROM] Sibiu
6 The Robin 2 [UK] Wolverhampton
7 Liverpool Academy [UK] Liverpool
10 Astoria 2 [UK] London

July 2008
12 Floro [NOR]
19 G-taranaki Festival [NZ] New Plymouth
25 Rock & Blues Festival [UK] Walton On Trent
Don’t miss the meeting with the “Voice of Rock” on May 11th 2008 !

Weblinks: / / /

Courtesy of