Guitarist Greg Steele feels Faster Pussycat’s self-titled debut album is like a demo

Guitarist Greg Steele feels Faster Pussycat’s self-titled debut album is like a demo

Former Faster Pussycat guitarist Greg Steele was recently interviewed by Shawn Ratches for the Laughing Monkey Music podcast. Steele played on Faster Pussycat‘s best known albums — Faster Pussycat (1987), Wake Me Up When It’s Over (1989) and Whipped! (1992).

Steele was asked about Faster Pussycat‘s self-titled debut album to which he stated (as provided by the Laughing Monkey Music podcast with slight edits): “The first album was songs that Tamie [Downe] had. And then like I wrote “Don’t Change That Song” and a few others, because, I mean, really the first album, we maybe wrote the first 15 songs we ever played and 10 of them are on the album.”

Steele continued: “It’s like punk metal. It’s very, very — there’s no depth to it, right? It’s just one guitar. There’s no like doubling, double tracking our guitars like we did, you know, we’d double, triple or duel track our guitar playing after that. That album, I had one amp, one guitar. My amp blew up the last day we were recording. We didn’t like — you know, when you go in, you’re doing a record, you fix…. You go through your equipment, make sure everything’s cool and we didn’t do that for the first record. The first record is like a demo. It’s like a demo of a band just started. That’s why I look at that album.

The guitarist added: “Sonically, I can’t listen to it. I like a lot of the songs on it. I like the songs. Yeah, sonically — we did that whole record for — I have the receipts for that record. It was like $38,000 and at that time, you were getting like a quarter of a million to go record and we did the whole thing for under $38,000. So therefore, it’s like a demo.”

You can listen to the interview with Greg Steele on the Laughing Monkey Music podcast below:

Faster Pussycat‘s “Don’t Change That Song” video: