Hollywood Vampires to release new digital deluxe edition of debut album

Hollywood Vampires to release new digital deluxe edition of debut album

The all-star group that makes up Hollywood Vampires led by the legendary Alice Cooper will be releasing a digital deluxe version of the band’s self-titled debut album on February 12, 2016 that will include three news tracks consisting of two cover songs and one new original song entitled “Bad As I Am.”

Sleaze Roxx stated the following in its review of the regular version of Hollywood Vampires‘ self-titled album: “… I would like to say that I like the fact that they kept the original spirit of the songs, all the while trying to make them their own. I’ve always thought that, if a band is going to do cover songs, they shouldn’t do them entirely the same as the originals. After all, what’s the point of that? Just listen to the originals if you’re going to do that. This album scores a hit as a tribute album. If you’re a fan of Alice Cooper, you’ll probably really enjoy this album. I can’t say that I think this release is essential in any way, but it is quite interesting with all of the history behind it and the musicians involved. So if you have a few extra dollars and want a fun album to listen to, then give the Hollywood Vampires a spin.”

Hollywood Vampires posterThe group’s press release states in part (with slight edits):

“The Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper [Happy Birthday Alice!], Johnny Depp, Joe Perry) will make their television debut in front of a worldwide audience when they perform on the 58th Annual Grammy Awards, Feb 15 on CBS. A super-group comprised of rock royalty and Hollywood superstar, the Vampires will hit the stage offering fans a special surprise for what will be a highlight on Music’s Biggest Night.

The Hollywood Vampires live again with the release of a new digital deluxe version of their self-titled album available to all digital partners on Feb 12. This expanded version includes three additional songs, including one original and two rocking covers…

The deluxe version includes the scorching new single “Bad As I Am” an original song penned by Johnny Depp, Tommy Henriksen, and Bruce Witkin and features Matt Sorum, Duff Mckagan, Joe Perry, Johnny Depp and Alice Cooper.

Also included is “I’m A Boy,” a Who original, that was only available as a Japanese bonus track.

Hollywood Vampires photo 3“7 and 7 Is” is an unreleased track from the album sessions and is the classic song by the legendary Los Angeles band Love, a Vampires special pick and one that Alice covered on his 1981 solo album, Special Forces.

A little history on the Vampires, in 1969 on the Sunset Strip at a club called the Rainbow Bar & Grill, the Hollywood Vampires were born in the upstairs bar. It was a gathering place for the rock stars living in or passing through L.A. “To join the club, one simply had to out drink all of the members,” says Alice Cooper, a founding member of the original Vampires.

Alice and good friend Johnny Depp got together and decided the spirit of the Hollywood Vampires should live again (minus the drinking). Alice and Johnny were joined by Joe Perry, who is an old friend of both of them, and the recording began: a tribute to the original Hollywood Vampires. An environment was born for great artists to hang, laugh and play together.

Joining the Hollywood Vampires for their Grammy performance is Matt Sorum on drums, Duff McKagan on bass, Tommy Henriksen on guitar, and Bruce Witkin on piano and guitar.

During the recording of the album, Alice, Johnny and Joe and producer Bob Ezrin were joined by an amazing group of modern day Vampires, including Perry Farrell, Dave Grohl, Sir Paul McCartney, Joe Walsh, Slash, Robbie Krieger, Zak Starkey, Brian Johnson and Kip Winger, to record tracks by their dead friends and heroes.

The album package, an antique book, was created by noted men’s fashion designer (and rock fan) John Varvatos in his signature vintage style.

All artist proceeds will be donated to MusiCares, an organization that provides a safety net of critical assistance (financial, medical and personal emergencies) for music people in times of need.”

Hollywood Vampires CD deluxe coverTrack List for digital deluxe album Hollywood Vampires:
01. The Last Vampire (original track)
02. Raise The Dead (original track)
03. My Generation
04. Whole Lotta Love
05. I Got A Line On You
06. Five To One / Break On Through
07. One / Jump Into The Fire
08. Come And Get It
09. Jeepster
10. Cold Turkey
11. Manic Depression
12. Itchycoo Park
13. School’s Out / Another Brick in The Wall
14. My Dead Drunk Friends (original track)
15. I’m A Boy (Japanese bonus track)
16. 7 And 7 Is (unreleased track)
17. Bad As I Am (new original track)