King Kobra’s first two albums to be reissued by Rock Candy Records

King Kobra’s first two albums to be reissued by Rock Candy Records

Great news for King Kobra fans as the group’s two first albums will be reissued by Rock Candy Records and available as of February 17, 2017.

Chipster PR has issued the following press release earlier today (with slight edits):

King Kobra‘s classic first two releases, Ready To Strike and Thrill Of A Lifetime, set for reissue

During the 1980s, the music scene was exploding with an abundance of great rock bands – including multi-platinum sellers such as Mötley Crüe, Quiet Riot and Ratt – but there was always room for talented new contenders. For King Kobra, this was an invitation from heaven, launching onto a landscape that was primed for killer hard rock, enormous sales, and unlimited airplay.

It comes as no surprise then, that respected re-issue label Rock Candy Records has turned a spotlight on their first two classic albums, ‘Ready To Strike’ and ‘Thrill Of A Lifetime’. Both titles are set to be reissued on February 10th having been fully remastered with enhanced 16-page booklets featuring rare photos, new interviews, and a 4,000 word essay penned by Malcolm Dome.

Formed in California in 1984, by seasoned drummer Carmine Appice (Cactus, Beck Bogart & Appice, Ozzy Osbourne) and featuring vocalist Mark Free (Unruly Child), guitarists John Michael Philips & Mick Sweda (Bulletboys) and bassist Johnny Rod (WASP), the band won instant attention for their unique look – four blondes and one brunette. Produced by Spencer Proffer (Quiet Riot, WASP, Cheap Trick) and signed to Capitol Records, the band’s debut album, originally issued in 1985, won them the attention of fans and critics alike by delivering one of the year’s best records. Tracks such as ‘Hunger’, ‘Tough Guys’, ‘Piece Of The Rock’ and the title track itself are pivotal examples of some of the best mid 80’s hard rock.

Thrill Of A Lifetime’, their sophomore album, originally issued in 1986, saw the band shift gear, modernising their sound and focussing on more accessible songs, perhaps modelled on the chart success of artists like Bon Jovi and Cinderella. The material was spearheaded by the hugely infectious ‘Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)’, a track that was included on the hit movie ‘Iron Eagle’. Elsewhere there’s ‘Feel The Heat’, ‘Raise Your Hands To Rock’ and ‘Dream On’ for further proof of their hard rocking credentials.

Each album can be ordered via these links:

Ready to Strike‘:

Thrill of a Lifetime:’

Track List for Ready To Strike:
01. Ready To Strike
02. Hunger
03. Shadow Rider
04. Shake Up
05. Attention
06. Breakin’ Out
07. Tough Guys
08. Dancing With Desire
09. Second Thoughts
10. Piece Of The Rock

Track List for Thrill Of A Lifetime:
01. Second Time Around
02. Dream On
03. Feel The Heat
04. Thrill Of A Lifetime
05. Only The Strong Survive
06. Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)
07. Home Street Home
08. Overnight Sensation
09. Raise Your Hands To Rock
10. Party Animal
Bonus Track:
11. Home Street Home (Street Mix)

For more information, please visit:

King Kobra‘s “Hunger” video:


Video della canzone “Hunger” dei King Kobra dal disco “Ready To Strike” del 1985

King Kobra‘s “Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)” video:

Iron Eagle (Never Say Die) – King Cobra

No Description