News Segment


December 15, 2005

The band will record in January

New York Dolls are to head back into the studio to record their first album of new material in over 30 years.

On January 15, the band will enter a hometown recording facility with Jack Douglas – producer of albums by Aerosmith, John Lennon, Cheap Trick and New York Dolls themselves.

The album will feature their first entirely new output since 1974’s ‘Too Much Too Soon’.

Singer David Johansen said: “Everything feels right. We’re excited to get back into the studio to record what we feel are the strongest tracks of our careers.”

According to the band’s label, Roadrunner Records, tracks expected to feature on the LP include ‘Punishing World’, ‘Plenty Of Music’ and ‘Rainbow Store’.

Following their reformation last year at the insistence of Morrissey, the New York Dolls line-up now features original members Johansen and guitarist Syl Sylvain with Steve Conte (guitar), Sami Yaffa (bass), Brian Delaney (drums) and Brian Koonin (keyboards).

Former bass player Arthur ‘Killer’ Kane passed away in 2004.

The new album from New York Dolls is scheduled for a summer release next year.

Courtesy of