News Segment


March 29, 2006

Every truly great act in the history of rock music has had two distinctive traits: a sure hand for hit-worthy compositions, but also the skill and that inner fire to translate these compositions just as hauntingly in their shows. SAXON certainly have both characteristics: having composed countless metal classics, they are also indisputably at home live on stage. 24 years after the release of their live classic, “The Eagle Has Landed I” (1982), and 10 years after “The Eagle Has Landed II” (1996), Steamhammer/SPV are due to release SAXON’s brand-new live album, “The Eagle Has Landed Pt. III” on June 6, 2006 (Germany: June 2, U.S.: June 27), featuring the first recordings with drummer Nigel Glockler, who has returned to the SAXON fold following an extended creative break. In other words, “The Eagle Has Landed Pt. III” was recorded by two different line-ups: the cuts from 2004 feature drummer Jorg Michael, the 2005 material presents Nigel Glockler. Consisting, next to Glocker, of founding members, Biff Byford (vocals) and Paul Quinn (guitar) plus the long-serving Nibbs Carter (bass) and Doug Scarratt (guitar), SAXON are still one of the hottest contemporary live acts.

The double album, “The Eagle Has Landed Pt. III”, will be released in a top-value digi-pack. CD1 contains many of the classics from the band’s early years up to 1984, including the release of their landmark album, “Crusader”. CD 2 features the most important songs from the recent past, starting with tracks from their 1991 comeback release, “Solid Ball Of Rock”, and ending with material from “Lionheart” (2004) – with one exception: “Broken Heroes” from their 1985 recording, “Innocence Is No Excuse”.

“The Eagle Has Landed Pt. III” track listing:

CD 1:
01. This Town Rocks (Stockholm 2005)
02. Backs To The Wall (Nuremberg 2005)
03. Redline (Hamburg 2005)
04. Stand Up And Be Counted (Berlin 2005)
05. Never Surrender (Berlin 2005)
06. Frozen Rainbow (Fulda 2005)
07. Suzie Hold On (Nuremberg 2005)
08. Play It Loud (Nuremberg 2005)
09. Warrior (Nuremberg 2005)
10. See The Lights Shining (Hamburg 2005)
11. To Hell And Back Again (Hamburg 2005)
12. Stallions Of The Highway (Fulda 2005)
13. Wheels Of Steel (Nuremberg 2005)
14. And The Bands Played On (Wacken 2004)
15. Crusader (Wacken 2004)

CD 2:
01. The Return (Paris 2004)
02. Lionheart (Paris 2004)
03. Man & Machine (London 2004)
04. Beyond The Grave (London 2004)
05. Searching For Atlantis (London 2004)
06. To Live By The Sword Pt. I (London 2004)
07. Unleash The Beast (London 2004)
08. To Live By The Sword Pt. II (London 2004)
09. Flying On The Edge (Paris 2004)
10. Jack Tars (Kiel 2004)
11. English Man ‘O’ War (Kiel 2004)
12. Court Of The Crimson King (Kiel 2004)
13. Broken Heroes (Kiel 2004)
14. Dragon’s Lair (Kiel 2004)
15. Rock Is Our Live (Wacken 2004)
16. Travellers Time (Wacken 2004)
17. Solid Ball Of Rock (Wacken 2004)

Courtesy of