News Segment


August 18, 2006

LOS ANGELES – Queensryche recorded its seventh studio album in 1999 during a time of uncertainty. Emotionally devastated by the departure of one of its founding guitarists, the Seattle-based, progressive-metal quintet was also reeling from the twin losses of its management group and record company. Despite the chaos, Queensryche returned stronger than ever with an album that marked a new beginning. Rhino Records revisits the band’s triumph of will with the remastered and expanded version of Q2K. The album will be available August 29 at traditional physical and digital retail outlets and for a suggested retail price of $18.98. The iTunes version of the album will also feature an exclusive video for “The Right Side Of My Mind.”

The rereleased album contains remastered versions of all 11 original studio tracks and includes a pair of songs recorded during the Q2K sessions that have never been released before – “Until There Was You” and “Howl.” Also included are different versions of two albums tracks: the radio edit of “Breakdown” and a live version of “Sacred Ground” recorded during the Q2K tour.

With new guitarist Kelly Gray, Queensryche – singer and chief songwriter Geoff Tate, guitarist Michael Wilton, bassist Eddie Jackson, and drummer Scott Rockenfield – rallied to record a stellar collection of songs featuring the band’s trademark mix of bone-crushing metal intensity and the dynamic progressive rock arrangements. The album includes the rock radio hit, “Breakdown,” along with fan favorites, “Liquid Sky,” “Sacred Ground,” “Falling Down,” and the epic “The Right Side Of My Mind.”

Writing in the album’s updated liner notes, Tate recalls the tumultuous time that spawned the album: “With the rerelease of Q2K and some water under the bridge, I listen back to what we created in that very stressful time with an open mind and I hear a band working to redefine themselves musically and forge ahead after suffering several devastating blows. The music is unique and with the inclusion of ‘Until There Was You’ and ‘Howl,’ the project feels complete. Why these two songs were not included on the original release I can’t actually say…I don’t remember; it was a very strange time.”

The release of Q2K continues an ambitious year for Queensryche, which includes the April release of the long-awaited sequel Operation: mindcrime II, which debuted at #14 in the Billboard Top 200. In addition, the band embarks on an extensive summer/fall tour in August. Presented by VH1 Classic, the epic live show will feature a full stage production, including surround sound, video imagery, and actors playing out both parts of the Operation: mindcrime saga in their entirety.

Q2K Track Listing

1. “Falling Down”
2. “Sacred Ground”
3. “One Life”
4. “When The Rain Comes…”
5. “How Could I?”
6. “Beside You”
7. “Liquid Sky”
8. “Breakdown”
9. “Burning Man”
10. “Wot Kinda Man”
11. “The Right Side Of My Mind”
12. “Until There Was You” *
13. “Howl” *
14. “Sacred Ground” – Live *
15. “Breakdown” – Radio edit
16. “The Right Side Of Mind” – video #

* Previously unreleased
# iTunes exclusive

Courtesy of RockStarPR