News Segment


April 27, 2007

TESLA has always been revered as a bluesy, no-frills, ’70s-style hard rock band, concentrating on solid musicianship more than the trends of modern music. Now, after selling over 16 million albums worldwide since bursting onto the scene in 1986, they’re paying homage to their hard rock heroes on their sixth studio album, REAL TO REEL, due out June 5 on their own independent label, Tesla Electric Company Recordings (in partnership with Ryko Distribution).

REAL TO REEL-produced by TESLA and Tom Zutaut and recorded at the Sonic Ranch in Tornillo, TX–is a two-disc 25-song collection of classic rockers from the ’60s and ’70s, recorded through a vintage Neve console directly to Ampex 456 analog tape to capture the purity of these timeless and legendary songs. Songs include: “Space Truckin’,” “I’ve Got A Feeling,” “Ball of Confusion,” “All The Young Dudes” and “Street Fighting Man.”

The first 13 tracks will be available on June 5 at retail outlets, while the second disc containing the remaining 12 songs will be available this summer along the band’s tour route with the purchase of a concert ticket. Details are forthcoming.

On the touring front, TESLA will launch a summer U.S. headlining tour starting June 7 in Santa Rosa, CA at the Wells Fargo Center for the Arts. They’ll make a stop in Las Vegas at the House of Blues on Thursday, June 14. Tickets for both shows go on sale Friday, April 27. The band will perform three more House of Blues shows in Anaheim (Friday, June 8), West Hollywood (Saturday, June 9), in San Diego (Monday, June 11), which go on sale this Saturday, April 28. More dates will be announced in the coming weeks. Fans can stay plugged into all things REAL TO REAL and purchase VIP ticket packages at the band’s new website,

Here’s the complete track listing of Reel one (sold at retail):

1. Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)
2. Walk Away (James Gang)
3. Hand Me Down World (Guess Who)
4. Bad Reputation (Thin Lizzy)
5. Thank You (Led Zeppelin)
6. I’ve Got A Feeling (Beatles)
7. Day Of The Eagle (Robin Trower)
8. Ball Of Confusion (Temptations)
9. Rock Bottom (UFO)
10. Stealin’ (Uriah Heep)
11. Bell Bottom Blues (Eric Clapton)
12. Honky Tonk Women (Rolling Stones)
13. Dear Mr. Fantasy (Traffic)

Here’s the complete track listing of Reel two (available with concert ticket purchase only):

1. All The Young Dudes (Mott The Hoople)
2. Make It Last (Montrose)
3. Shooting Star (Bad Company)
4. Not Fragile (Bachman-Turner Overdrive)
5. Street Fighting Man (Rolling Stones)
6. Is It My Body (Alice Cooper)
7. I Want To Take You Higher (Sly & The Family Stone)
8. Do You Feel Like We Do (Peter Frampton)
9. Beer Drinkers And Hellraisers (ZZ Top)
10. Seasons Of Wither (Aerosmith)
11. Saturday Night Special (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
12. War Pigs (Black Sabbath)

Courtesy of