News Segment


June 7, 2004

NEW YORK (Billboard) – In conjunction with the July 9 opening of the Metallica documentary “Some Kind of Monster,” the band will issue an eight-track EP of the same name.

The Warner Bros. package, set for a July 13 release, will feature two versions of the song from which the film takes its moniker: one drawn from the 2003 album “St. Anger” and an edit by producer Bob Rock.

Six live tracks recorded June 11, 2003, in Paris, are also featured: “The Four Horsemen,” “Damage, Inc.,” “Leper Messiah,” “Motorbreath,” “Ride the Lightning” and “Hit the Lights.” Limited editions of the EP will bundled with a compressed T-shirt in large and extra-large sizes, emblazoned with the film’s poster art.

Directed by Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky, “Some Kind of Monster” offers an unvarnished behind-the-scenes look at Metallica’s recent past, including the departure of longtime bassist Jason Newsted and vocalist James Hetfield’s stint in rehab.

Metallica is in the midst of a European tour that ran into a snag Sunday night at the U.K.’s Download Festival, when drummer Lars Ulrich was unable to perform due to an undisclosed medical emergency. According to the group’s official Web site (, Ulrich was ably replaced during the 11-song set by Slipknot’s Joey Jordison, Slayer’s Dave Lombardo and Ulrich’s own drum tech.

Metallica has shifted from Elektra to Warner Bros. Records following the labels’ recent sale by Time Warner to an investor group led by Edgar Bronfman, Jr. Ulrich recently told Billboard the group’s new studio album won’t begin taking shape until next year.

Jonathan Cohen courtesy of Billboard