News Segment


November 1, 2004

Jon Bon Jovi will receive the Award of Merit at the 32nd annual American Music Awards.

The 31st honoree in the awards’ history, Bon Jovi joins the ranks of Bing Crosby, Ella Fitzgerald and Elvis Presley, who have been similarly feted for their “outstanding contributions to the musical entertainment of the American public.”

Rock star’s new boxed set, “100,000,000 Bon Jovi Fans Can’t Be Wrong,” will be released Nov. 16 by Island Records.

ABC will air kudofest live on the East Coast and tape-delayed on the West Coast on Nov. 14 from the Shrine Auditorium.

Performing on the telecast will be Fantasia, Josh Groban, Toby Keith, Alicia Keys, Lenny Kravitz, John Mayer, Maroon 5, Pharrell, Jessica Simpson, Snoop Dogg, Gwen Stefani, Twista, Uncle Kracker, Usher, Kanye West, Gretchen Wilson and others.

Justin Chang courtesy of Variety