Ozzy Osbourne Crowned ‘Living Legend’ At Rock Awards


November 3, 2008

Rocker Ozzy Osbourne has been crowned ‘Living Legend’ at the Marshall Classic Rock Roll of Honour Awards.

Charlotte Bailey of The Daily Telegraph reports that Ozzy Osbourne, lead vocalist of heavy metal band Black Sabbath, won the award in honour of his long career, which has spanned four decades.

Past recipients of the accolade include Alice Cooper, Lemmy and Jimmy Page.

Guitar legend Slash, the former Guns N’ Roses guitarist, presented the award. He also received the Marshall “11” award “for his services to balls-out guns-blazing rock n’ roll”.

EarlieR, Osbourne and Slash enjoyed afternoon tea together at the Dorchester Hotel in London.

The rock and roll stars showed their softer side as they shared tea and cakes ahead of the big night.

Osbourne collected the award wearing a black velvet jacket and round purple-tinted glasses. He hugged wife Sharon who was wearing a huge poppy.

Slash wore his trademark top hat to present the award.

Osbourne joked about his award saying: “I hope I don’t die on the way home.”

Speaking about his nomination award before the ceremony, Osbourne said: “I couldn’t be happier to know that Classic Rock haven’t written me off! Seriously, it’s a great honour and I’m looking forward to going to my first Classic Rock Awards. Can’t wait to see you there.”

Scott Rowley, editor-in-chief of Classic Rock Magazine, which hosted the event and which was also celebrating its 10th anniversary, said: “Ozzy’s a household name and bands like AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, Metallica and Guns N’ Roses are getting more headlines and front covers than ever, breaking box office records and topping the charts.

“The Roll Of Honour is a celebration of rock music as the most vital and vibrant genre of music.”

At the event, held at London’s Park Lane Hotel, Led Zeppelin were also celebrating as they won event of the year for their one-off London 02 show.

Album of the year went to Whitesnake for Good To Be Bad.

Dave Grohl sent in an acceptance speech thanking Classic Rock readers after Foo Fighters were named band of the year and Kiss guitarist Paul Stanley received the showman award.

Jeff Beck was honoured for outstanding contribution and Fleetwood Mac’s Peter Green picked up classic songwriter.

Metallica, who have announced a UK and European tour, won the gong for re-issue of the year for their first three albums.

Sharon Osbourne presented the Armand de Brignac VIP award to music promoter Harvey Goldsmith.

The Marshall Classic Rock Roll of Honour winners list:

Album of the year sponsored by Universal Music Catalogue/Lost Tunes: Whitesnake – Good To Be Bad

Band of the year sponsored by Live Nation: Foo Fighters

Re-issue of the year sponsored by Rock Radio: Metallica – First three albums: Vinyl re-issues

DVD of the year sponsored by Play.com: AC/DC – Plug Me In

Event of the year sponsored by Music Live: Led Zeppelin at the 02 Arena

Best new band sponsored by Provogue: Airbourne

Classic songwriter sponsored by Guitar Hero: Peter Green (Fleetwood Mac)

Showman award sponsored by Guinness: Paul Stanley (Kiss)

The Armand de Brignac VIP award: Harvey Goldsmith

Gibson presents the Tommy Vance inspiration award: Syd Barrett

Classic album sponsored by Eagle Rock: Cream – Disraeli Gears

Metal guru sponsored by Plastichead Distribution: Wayne Kramer (MC5)

Classic Rock/ Childline award: Bryan Adams

Outstanding contribution sponsored by Monitor Audio: Jeff Beck

Marshall “11” award: Slash

Living legend sponsored by Marshall: Ozzy Osbourne

Courtesy of www.telegraph.co.uk