42 Decibel – Hard Rock ‘N’ Roll

42 Decibel - Hard Rock 'N' Roll

Released on June 21, 2013 (Steamhammer/SPV)

Track List:
01. Scotch Drinker
02. Smokin’ Fire
03. Long Legged Woman
04. The Real Deal
05. Take Me
06. I’m Gonna Give You All
07. Drinkin’ Margaritas
08. Addicted To Rage
09. Born To Ride Alone
10. Rocker Soul
11. Drunk Love
12. Gimme A Drink

Band Members:
Junior Figueroa – vocals and lead guitar
Billy Bob Riley – rhythm/slide guitar
Chris Marck Towers – bass
Nick Cambiasso – drums

Produced by 42 Decibel

If you’re tired of the so called AC/DC ‘clone bands’, read no further — and curse the commercial success of Airbourne for reigniting this tried and true formula. While 42 Decibel offer nothing new to the three chord swagger, they may in fact be the first of their kind from Argentina. No doubt many listeners are sick and tired of the AC/DC copycats, and the bands themselves may be annoyed with the constant comparisons, but the type of music on display throughout Hard Rock ‘N’ Roll is the perfect backdrop to an alcohol induced night of debauchery.

Right from the opening track “Scotch Drinker”, 42 Decibel frontman Junior Figueroa conjures up the sound of ’70s rock God Bon Scott and the Young brothers in convincing manner. There is no way around it, this band has done their homework so well that you begin to wonder if you’re listening to old AC/DC outtakes. The close to seven-minute “Take Me” cruises along at a snail’s pace yet works wonderfully, “I’m Gonna Give You All” is ripped right off Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, “Born To Ride Alone” throws a little slide guitar into the mix, “Rocker Soul” speeds things up while totally living up to its title and “Drunk Love” is as filthy as you would expect — I think you get the idea what’s going on here.

Unlike Airbourne, 42 Decibel concentrate more on blues rock swagger than fist-clenched fury. Every track on Hard Rock ‘N’ Roll quickly sets a tempo and sticks too it, so you know exactly what you’re getting and what to expect. 42 Decibel are like going to a gourmet restaurant, staring at the exotic dishes on the menu, and then ordering your favorite steak that you’ve digested a thousand times before. If you’re looking for something new this isn’t for you, but if you’re in the mood for a comfortable and reliable old friend this album is exactly what you need.

Sure Hard Rock ‘N’ Roll is littered with cliche lyrics about drinking and women, and there is no Shakespeare or profound words of wisdom to be found, but isn’t that what rock ‘n’ roll is all about? You know from the song titles alone what a band like this is bringing to the table, and in that respect 42 Decibel deliver. There is nothing contained within Hard Rock ‘N’ Roll that is life changing, but it’s the type of music you can envision a gorgeous dancer stripping to — and what is better than that?


Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, February 2014

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com
Purchase at iTunes.com