42 Decibel: ‘Rolling In Town’

42 Decibel CD cover42 DECIBEL
Released on September 18, 2015 (Steamhammer/SPV)

Relentless and raw — that is what I think of when I listen to 42 Decibel‘s sophomore album Rolling In Town. That and just about everything with respect to 42 Decibel‘s Rolling In Town reminds me of old school Bon Scott era AC/DC.

If you closed your eyes and listened to 42 Decibel‘s singer Junior Figueroa, especially on a slower bluesy track like “Short Fused” — you’d be hard pressed not to think that this is a long lost recording from Scott himself! The faster tracks on Rolling In Town are a little bit removed from what you might expect from Scott‘s AC/DC days and I find that 42 Decibel‘s songs are better when they focus on bluesier numbers rather than faster paced stuff such as “Drop Of Booze” where sometimes the guitars just seem a little bit out of tune. There is a real live feel to a lot of the songs on Rolling In Town and apparently many were recorded on a first take.

My favorite tracks are “Short Fused” with its bluesy delivery, “Down The Hatch” with its cool and instantaneously recognizable guitar melody and “Midnight Teaser (Evil Woman)” for which a video was recorded. Sure, there are an awful lot of AC/DC type copycat bands out there but you’ll be hard pressed to find a more authentic old school Bon Scott era AC/DC copycat band than 42 Decibel! If you like Bon Scott era AC/DC and an old school ’70s feel to your rock and roll, 42 Decibel are likely just what you are looking for!

Track List:
01. Can’t Keep Control
02. Short Fused
03. Rude And Fast
04. Drop Of Booze
05. Burning Down The Road
06. Eye Of The Hawk
07. Down The Hatch
08. Midnight Teaser (Evil Woman)
09. Cold Steel Rider
10. Smooth Talke

Band Members:
Junior Figueroa – vocals, guitar
Nicko Cambiasso – drums
Billy Bob Riley – rhythm guitar, slide guitar
Matt Fraga – bass

Produced by 42 Decibel
Mastered by Patricio Claypole

Band Website:

Reviewed by Olivier for Sleaze Roxx, November 2015

42 DECIBEL “Midnight Teaser (Evil Woman) (Official Video)

Taken from the new album “Rolling In Town” – Out September 18th!More Infos under: https://www.facebook.com/42Decibelofficial?sk=wall andhttps://www.facebook….