Age Of Evil – Get Dead

Age Of Evil - Get Dead

Released on November 17, 2009 (AOE Music)

Track List:
01. Cruel Intentions
02. Get Dead
03. Slave To The Grind
04. The Hellion/Electric Eye
05. Eye For An Eye (live)
06. Glimpse Of Light (live)

Band Members:
Jeremy Goldberg – vocals and guitar
Jordan Ziff – lead guitar
Jacob Goldberg – bass
Garrett Ziff – drums

Age Of Evil are testing the waters with their new EP Get Dead, which consists of two original studio tracks, two covers; “Slave To The Grind” and “The Hellion/Electric Eye”, and closing with two original live tracks. The result is a reasonably good hard rocking effort.

Age Of Evil is a modern contemporary metal band with no metal-core tendencies, which is a plus. They are a cross between Avenged Sevenfold and classic Skid Row. The vocals are solid, very melodic, with massive and soaring guitar heroics and a hard hitting back beat. It takes a set of balls to cover the Judas Priest and Skid Row classics, but Age Of Evil passed with flying colors. Granted they can’t compete with the original versions, but then again what cover versions can?

I absolutely love the opening tracks “Cruel Intentions”, which has dueling guitars and a neo-classical vibe to it ala Yngwie Malmsteen, and “Get Dead”, which is as pummeling as anything Pantera released early in their career. If nothing else, pick this album up for these two wonderful, glorious chucks of modern, rocking, heavy metal.

If there were more bands that broke away from the mold of Nickleback, Theory Of A Deadman, Shinedown and Hinder the current state of rock ‘n’ roll wouldn’t be as stagnant as it is right now. Are Age Of Evil modern rock/metal saviors? It’s too early to tell, but we could be saying that in a year if this takes off… –

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, November 2009.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at