Babylon Bombs – Babylon’s Burning

Babylon Bombs - Babylon's Burning

Released October 23, 2009 (Babylon On And On Records/Deaf & Dumb Music)

Track List:
01. Liberation
02. Babylon’s Burning
03. Resurrection Love
04. Nobody’s Home
05. Angel Eyes
06. It’s Alright
07. Anywhere The Wind Blows
08. Winding Road
09. Rattle My Bones
10. Shine On
11. Goodbye Good Luck
12. Fade Away

Dani – vocals and guitar
Jon – guitars
Ricky – bass
Swaint – drums and percussion

Marty – all bass

Produced by Chris Laney and Babylon Bombs.

It’s been over three years since the release of Babylon BombsDoin’ You Nasty and I’ve been a bit worried whether they would be able to deliver a cracker once again. Babylon Bombs burst onto the scene with their glorious debut Cracked Wide Open And Bruised in 2005, which gained them a lot of rave reviews with cleverly arranged songs to die for. Somehow Doin’ You Nasty fell a bit short compared to the debut for me, ending up with just one or two too many short songs. Nevertheless there was an improvement in production values which made them sound more sleaze. With their third album, accurately titled Babylon’s Burning, they manage to combine the strengths of their two previous discs (the songwriting/arrangements of Cracked… with the power of Doin’ You Nasty) to record their best bunch of songs so far.

  “Liberation” is a perfect opener and is the prime example of the aforementioned combination of power and arrangements. The strings fit in perfectly with the melodies and riffs and it is needless to say that this is the kind of song that should be all over the radio-waves. The title track is another killer, before “Resurrection Love” slows down the whole affair a bit with its acoustic verse/driving chorus changes. “Nobody’s Home” is a typical Babylon Bombs song, but on a wickedly excellent level and again a chorus you won’t get out of your head anytime soon. “Angel Eyes” shows a bit of a punkish vibe and could be described as a mixture of Hanoi Rocks and Poison. “It’s Alright” is the monster-ballad of the album, before “Anytime The Wind blows” kicks in, a slide-guitar rocker strongly reminiscent of Cinderella and Aerosmith. It’s just after that song when the ‘Bombs’ are shifting gears once again, ending the album with three fantastic rockers in a row, of which especially “Rattle My Bones” is a perfect example of how a pure hard rock song has to be crafted. Fantastic stuff!

  ‘But, wait a minute, there’s twelve tracks on this disc’, you might say. That’s right, but somehow “Goodbye Good Luck” and “Fade Away” feel like bonus tacks to me. They are good songs as well, but they just don’t reach the sonic excellence of the first ten tracks. Furthermore “Shine On” ends in a stylish way, which in my eyes would have been the perfect ending of the album.

  All in all Babylon Bombs have reached new heights with Babylon’s Burning. The songwriting really shines and it is perfectly produced and arranged by the band and the master himself, Chris Laney. It’s a so called ‘instant classic’ in my opinion. Shine on guys, it’s great to have you back! – –

Reviewed by Vige for Sleaze Roxx, November 2009.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at