Breaker Breaker: ‘Wreckin’ Machine’

BREAKER BREAKERbreaker-breaker
Released on September 13, 2016 (Independent)

Breaker Breaker
are a hot new band out of Portland, Oregon, USA.  Since this is an indie debut release, I don’t know much about them. And yet I don’t care. Breaker Breaker have issued an amazing ten song album simply dripping with sleaze over its 30 minute run time. Now, this is usually the part of the review where I offer background, or highlights, or just about anything to get you interested in the band. But with Breaker Breaker, none of it matters. Who cares? Just listen to the music. Wreckin Machine doesn’t need all that hype. It is what it is, and what it is, is solid hard rock n’ roll.

I’m hearing everything from Faster Pussycat to Pretty Boy Floyd in this mix. Hella good. “Come Get A Piece” is a driving force, full speed ahead and screw them damn torpedoes. “Look you in the eye, spit in your face.” The chorus kinda says it all. “Electrify” is a hard shuffle that goes overboard. Total early LA Guns. This just keeps getting better. “Evil Woman” knocks the pace up with another high energy track. Definitely not subtle or particularly detailed, but I’ll stick to my mantra…. who cares?

Oh man. “Move It” lives up to its name with yet another great guitar line. A modern Skid Row feel. One of my favourite sleaze bands was always Cats In Boots. Remember them? “Pistol Grip Baby” could have fit on 1988’s Kicked And Klawed any day. Meanwhile, “Seeing Red” just blasts along, while “Spit Me Out” has a certain Van Halen feel with a dash of Ramones. Hmm, “Weather Man” yep. “Wrecking Machine”? More of the same freakin’ high octane groove. When the playback stops, I need a ventilator or something to get my breath back.

So, have you figured out how I’m going to summarize Breaker Breaker yet? I’ve intentionally gone overboard on hyperbole and grammatical impurities in this review because that’s what this band delivers — an over the top performance that has taken my 2016 playlist by storm. Wreckin Machine is premium sleaze, along the same lines as 5 Star Hooker or Löve Razër that Sleaze Roxx has looked at this year already. Sure the mix might be a little rough, and the music a little loose, but hey… who cares? I’m loving this band, and can’t wait to find out what they do next. Check it out and buy the album on Bandcamp.

Track List:
01. Move It
02. Pistol Grip Baby
03. Zombie
04. Come Get A Piece
05. Weather Man
06. Wreckin’ Machine
07. Evil Woman
08. Electrify
09. Seein’ Red
10. Spit Me Out

Band Members:
Timmy Rokket
– guitar, vocals
E-Ryder – bass
Tommy Thunders – drums

Band Websites:

Reviewed by Metal Mike for Sleaze Roxx, October 2016

Breaker Breaker performing “Seein’ Red” live at the Twilight Cafe & Bar:

– YouTube

Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube.