Confess: ‘Haunters’

Released on March 1, 2017 (Confess)

When Confess released Jail back in 2015, I was an instant fan. The rawness, the energy, the angst, the power was all in that release that I crave in the music that I listen to. I still listen to that album constantly. It was my pick for top album in 2015. When news came out that Confess were in the studio recording their sophomore follow-up, I was excited and looking forward to its release. That day finally came yesterday and I eagerly went out and bought it online.

As I made it through each song, I found myself missing that rawness, that power, and that energy that I was hoping would appear on this follow-up. I just didn’t find it anywhere I looked on this album. The album is polished and well produced — overly in my opinion — and probably to a fault in this case. I see this on many sophomore releases and unfortunately, this release is no different. The production is way too clean, way too polished; over produced even, in my opinion. That rawness and power that had me from the first song on Jail, just wasn’t repeated on this release.

So this morning, I went through the album again. I was thinking maybe my expectations were too high and that it would grow on me. That didn’t happen. Now that doesn’t mean that there are no good songs on this disc, there are, quite a few actually. But even with that said, there’s no one stand out anthem. There’s not one stand out song that just blows me away anywhere like on Jail where there were multiple. That is quite disappointing to me after such a stellar release as Jail was.

Will I listen to the album again? Yeah, I will. Will it be in a constant state of playing rotation like Jail is on my music list? Probably not. Unfortunately, even as a big fan of this band, I’m left disappointed by this release.

Track List:
01. Irony
02. Strange Kind Of Affection
03. Stand Our Ground
04. We Are The Rats
05. Haunting You
06. Talia
07. How Could I Let You Go
08. Animal Attraction
09. I Won’t Die
10. Lady Of Night
11. Tonight
12. Let The Show Go On
13. Eye To Eye (Tevin campbell cover)
14. Vittring (Magnus Uggla cover)

Band Members:
John Elliot – vocals
Samael – drums
Van Noice – bass
Blomman – guitar
Richie – guitar

Band Websites:
Official Website

Reviewed by Ed DeGagne for Sleaze Roxx, March 2017

Confess‘ “Strange Kind Of Affection” song:

Confess – Strange kind of affection ( NEW SINGLE 2017 )

Strange kind of affection from upcoming album “Haunters”out march 3 on SG records & Diabolic might records 666.For more info visit…