Dangerous Curves: ‘Summertime Highs’

Released in July 2021 (Dangerous Curves)

Following on from their 2018 album So Dirty Rightwhich featured in the Sleaze Roxx Readers’ Top 20 Albums of that year, and the subsequent departure of bassist Ziggy Robertson, Australia’s Dangerous Curves return with their new bassist Will Saw and brand new collection Summertime Highs. 

The instantly catchy “In Those Eyes” begins things in fine style. It’s big and bombastic with a huge chorus and a very Roxy Blue feel to it, which is certainly no bad news to these ears. There are more than a few funky overtones on “My Oh My (Get What You Need)” that are executed well but the song itself left me a little cold, sadly. There is more of the same on the slightly harder “I Like It” before we are thankfully back to what I feel these guys do best on the brilliant current single “Good And The Bad”, which has another massive chorus and a melody that deserves to propel it into any chart. It’s that good.

The jaunty title track has more than a few echoes of Sugar Ray and I suppose it depends on your opinion of that band that will  define your opinion of “Summertime Highs.” Personally, I like it and can easily imagine it blaring out on beaches everywhere. “Fallen Off” is a semi-acoustic, lighter waving and singalong track with a fine subtle solo from guitarist Cammy, and yet another insistent chorus that will stay in your head for ages. The same can easily be applied to “Pieces of Your Love” which is all Reckless Love pomp and attitude.

The slightly alt-metal feel to “Living For The Now” has a more gravelly vocal from Kym that suits this style of song and continues in that vein  through the punchy “Changing Lanes.” The epic “Nightmare Games” is perfectly complimented by more fine rhythm section work from new bassist Will and drummer Luke on a song that will no doubt feature heavily in any live show, as will the raucous anthem “Foolish Appetite.” Proceedings end with the 79 second instrumental outro “SJS” that is nicely played but which I’m sure has more relevance to the band than to the listener.

Summertime Highs is not as immediate as its predecessor, which is not necessarily a bad thing. There is a nice diversity of styles that show the band members are experimenting further without losing hardly anything of the hook-laden, commercial appeal and driving melodies that are quickly becoming their trademark. The production is clear, the new member has slotted into this well-honed band seamlessly, and singer Kym has definitely never sounded better. Overall, this is a more than worthwhile follow up to their last fine album.

Track List:
01. In Those Eyes
02. My Oh My (Get What You Need)
03. I Like It
04. Good And The Bad
05. Summertime Highs
06. Fallen Off
07. Pieces 0f Your Love
08. Living For The Now
09. Changing Lanes
10. Nightmare Games
11. Foolish Appetite
12. SJS

Band Members:
Kym – vocals
Cammy – guitars
Will Saw – bass
Luke – drums

Band Websites:

Reviewed by Rockney Colin for Sleaze Roxx, July 2021

Dangerous Curves‘ “Good And The Bad” video: