Danko Jones: ‘Wild Cat’

Released on March 3, 2017 (AFM Records)

As many of you will know, Danko Jones are a threesome from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. The band was nominated for four Canadian Juno awards early in its career, and is sadly without a win so far. While popular on rock radio in its home and native land, the band has explored new territory in Europe and found real success. In fact, looking at the Danko Joneswebsite for 2017, the band is touring more overseas than in Canada.

I’ve spent some time listening to the new album Wild Cat. I was also a huge fan of Danko Jones‘ original release, 2002’s Born A Lion.  “Lovercall” and “Word is Bond” are staples. Never Too Loud was a great presentation… Even the 1999 EP was spectacular, featuring “Bounce.” The website I bought Fire Music from screwed me and gave me some messed up files. Jerks. Court case pending…. Ultimately, I’ve been following Danko Jones since their inception and I have always enjoyed their high energy in-your-face delivery.

The latest Danko Jones record, Wild Cat, is exactly what you would expect from the band. Aggressive guitars, upfront vocals, and hardcore rock and roll. There’s really no point in my reviewing this record song by song. Suffice to say, the band is providing exactly the music you would expect from previous offerings, without flourish or invention.

If you know Danko Jones already, then you will know what to expect. If you don’t, then think Jimi Hendrix mixed with a smattering of Thin Lizzy and a dash of Motõrhead. That’s the best way to put it. This band is a serious rock outfit, and it doesn’t pull punches. Danko Jones have played venues from acoustic (“Bounce” in Saskatoon) to MainStage at big festivals (Wacken).  Go with it if it’s your first time around. Otherwise, take it on as an addition to your worldwide mix of hard rock. It’s great stuff, but nothing original.

Track List:
01.  I Gotta Rock
02. My Little RnR
03.  Going Out Tonight
04. You Are My Woman
05. Do This Every Night
06. Let’s Start Dancing
07. Wild Cat
08. She Likes It
09. Success In Bed
10. Diamond Lady
11. Revolution (But Then We Make Love)

Band Members:
Danko Jones – guitar, vocals
John Calabrese – bass
Rich Knox – drums

Band Websites:
Official Website


Reviewed by Metal Mike for Sleaze Roxx, April 2017

Danko Jones‘ “My Little R&R” video:

DANKO JONES – My Little RnR (2017) // Official Audio // AFM Records

DANKO JONES – My Little RnR (2017) // official audio video // AFM RecordsThe song is taken from the album “Wild Cat”. Release Date: March 3rd, 2017.Pre order…

Danko Jones‘ “Wild Cat” teaser:

Danko Jones – Wild Cat Album Teaser

New album “Wild Cat” out March 3rd 2017.https://www.facebook.com/dankojones/Instagram: @danko_jonesTwitter: @dankojoneswww.dankojones.com