Duff McKagan’s Loaded – Sick

Duff McKagan's Loaded - Sick

Released April 7, 2009 (Century Media)

Track List:
01. Sick
02. Sleaze Factory
03. Flatline
04. IOU
05. The Slide
06. Translucent
07. Mothers Day
08. I See Through You
09. Forgive Me
10. No Shame
11. Blind Date Girl
12. Wasted Heart
13. No More
iTunes Bonus Track:
14. Roll Away

Duff McKagan – vocals and guitar
Mike Squires – guitar
Jeff Rouse – bass
Geoff Reading – drums

Produced by Martin Feveyear.

There’s no doubt that if you’ve heard Duff McKagan‘s solo work or his work with The Neurotic Outsiders and the Guns N’ Roses punk covers where he handles the vocals that the man can sing. He’s far from a David Coverdale or a Glenn Hughes, but he can carry a tune and his punk rock vocal influence lends itself nicely to the new project Loaded.

  Signed to Century Media, Loaded became a priority project for Duff while Velvet Revolver was on hiatus. In most cases a side project like Loaded comes off as forced and rushed, the majority of the energy going to the full-time gig. Such is not the case with Sick.

  While not a classic, Loaded‘s gritty, sleazy, melodic indie rock is just what the doctor ordered if you’re tired of the same old metal-core or death-core bands that are all the rage. Some of the standouts on Sick are “Flatline”, a punk and rock hybrid that hits the spot, “No Shame”, which screams radio hit, and the infectious “Sleaze Factory” and “Blind Date Girl”.

  In short, Sick is more stimulating than an album issued by a certain lunatic who has single handedly killed one of the greatest bands in the history of rock ‘n roll. I’ll let you figure out who I am talking about!

  duff-loaded.com – www.myspace.com/loaded – www.centurymedia.com

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, April 2009.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com
Purchase at iTunes.com