Flame – Blaze


Blaze Reissue
Released 1989 (Rockhill), 2004 (Z Records)

Track List:
01. Lorelei
02. Ride
03. Ball & Chain
04. New Love
05. Givin’ Me Lies
06. Get It All
07. Automatic
08. Fascination Touch
09. Bound N’ Tied (Paradise)
10. Freight Train
11. Don’t Look Down

Phillip Andrew – vocals
“Bronco” Billy Harvey – guitar
Don McBee – guitar and keyboards
Stephen Vegas – bass
Denis Bostok – drums

Produced by Phillip Andrew and “Bronco” Billy Harvey.

Z Records has managed to resurrect another impossible to find late 80s treat, repackaged it and made it available for some of us who may have missed Flame the first time around. You know the drill — melodic hair metal with memorable guitar solos, mixing it up between rock songs and ballads — and while Blaze isn’t breaking any new ground, it does deliver the goods.

  Blaze kicks off with two songs that are reminiscent of Saraya, even down to the vocals as Phillip Andrew sometimes has a gritty feminine sound going on. Some of the best songs include the straight-ahead rocker “Lorelei” and “Ball & Chain” with it’s extended intro that morphs into Dokken territory. Ballad hungry females were likely all over “New Love” and “Bound N’ Tied” during the band’s heyday. “Get It All” is a pop-metal tune that has an irresistible chorus that would feel at home on a Danger Danger release. “Freight Train”, with its gritty vocals over a chugging guitar, is possibly the best song on the disc.

  Well-polished radio friendly hair metal — they don’t make them like this anymore. Fans of bands such as Bon Jovi, Danger Danger and Cry Wolf should enjoy this revived gem.

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, February 2004.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com