Funny Money – Stick It!

Stick It!
Released 2006 (Fizz Donkey Records)

Track List:
01. By The Balls
02. Hot On Your Heels
03. Crush
04. Big Bang Boom
05. All Tied Up
06. Fool’s Confession
07. Slow To Blow
08. Nowhere At All
09. Play Me Like A Rhythm
10. Thousand Thank Yous
11. Weeds And Roses
12. About Women

Steve Whiteman – lead vocals
Rob Galpin – guitar
Mark Schenker – bass
Jimmy Chalfant – drums

Produced and engineered by Mark Schenker. Mixed by Beau Hill.

What do you get when you take 2/5ths of Kix and reunite them with Midnite Dynamite producer Beau Hill? You get a Funny Money CD that sounds more like Kix then any of their previous releases, and that is a good thing!

  I’m not implying that previous Funny Money albums were lackluster, just that Stick It! is their best release yet. You know exactly what you are getting with this band, fun no-frills hard rock. I can’t even remember the last time an album with Steve Whiteman has let me down, in fact, maybe it has never happened. As a teenager I used to drink and party to those old Kix cassettes, and today Stick It! creates the same urges and feelings.

  “By The Balls” and “Play Me Like A Rhythm” are the two stand out tracks and rival anything Whiteman‘s previous band put out. Of course the album doesn’t end with those two songs, “Hot On Your Heels”, “Big Bang Boom”, “Weeds And Roses” and “About Women” all display the same brand of go-for-the-throat rock ‘n’ roll. Only once does the band ease up, and that is for the “Thousand Thank Yous” ballad, the only song on the CD that I could live without.

  If you close your eyes and listen to this CD you would swear that you are enjoying a long lost Kix album, and that is a great feeling. It looks like all it took to kick Funny Money from great to extraordinary was the return of a couple names from the past. It’s a good thing I didn’t receive this release until a few days ago, or my end of the year list would have been even harder to compile! –

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, January 2007.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at