Heavy Bones – Heavy Bones

Heavy Bones - Heavy Bones
Released in 1992 (Reprise)

Track List:
01. The Hand That Feeds
02. 4:AM T.M.
03. Turn It On
04. Anna
05. Dead End St.
06. Where Eagles Fly
07. Enormodome
08. The Light Of Day
09. Your Love Won’t Let Me Down
10. Beating Heart
11. Summers In The Rain
12. Where The Livin’ Is Easy

Band Members:
Joel Ellis – vocals
Gary Hoey – guitar, mandolin, dobro and background vocals
Rex Tennyson – bass and background vocals
Frankie Banali – drums, percussion and background vocals

Additional Musicians:
Scott Humphrey – keyboards and strings (3, 6, 7 & 10)
Richie Zito – keyboards (4)
Rick Seratte – piano (3)
Tommy Fundeburke – background vocals
King Cricket and the Creole Crooning Croakers – background vocals

Produced by Richie Zito.

This is one of those albums that took me a few listens to get into, but I did like it better the second time around. Featuring former members of Cats In Boots and Quiet Riot, as well as guitar virtuoso Gary Hoey, Heavy Bones had an abundance of talent. “The Hand That Feeds”, “4:AM T.M.” and “Where The Livin’ Is Easy” are the great rockers on this release while “Turn It On” and “Anna” show the band’s sensitive side with exceptional results. Also thrown in are the instrumental “Enormodome” and the acoustical “Beating Heart”.

The sound here is melodic metal similar to Hardline, with of course some Cats In Boots sleaze thrown in. Heavy Bones was very talented but unfortunately the group got pushed aside when grunge was taking over the airwaves. Heavy Bones deserved more recognition, as they were sadly ignored when they hit the scene — this release gets two thumbs up!

Reviewed by Pam for Sleaze Roxx, April 2004.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at eBay.com