Iron Maiden – From Fear To Eternity

Iron Maiden - From Fear To Eternity: The Best Of 1990-2010

Released June 6, 2011 (EMI/UMe)

Track List:
Disc One:
01. The Wicker Man
02. Holy Smoke
03. El Dorado
04. Paschendale
05. Different World
06. Man On The Edge (live)
07. The Reincarnation Of Benjamin Breeg
08. Blood Brothers
09. Rainmaker
10. Sign Of The Cross (live)
11. Brave New World
12. Fear Of The Dark (live)
Disc Two:
01. Be Quick Or Be Dead
02. Tailgunner
03. No More Lies
04. Coming Home
05. The Clansman (live)
06. For The Greater Good Of God
07. These Colours Don’t Run
08. Bring Your Daughter… To The Slaughter
09. Afraid To Shoot Strangers
10. Dance Of Death
11. When The Wild Wind Blows

Bruce Dickinson – lead vocals
Dave Murray – guitar
Adrian Smith – guitar and backing vocals
Janick Gers – guitar
Steve Harris – bass, keyboards and backing vocals
Nicko McBrain – drums

What do you do when you release a critically acclaimed studio album, The Final Frontier, and tour sparingly behind it? Well, if you’re Iron Maiden (and if you released a live record recently) you put out another greatest hits album of course!

  Needless to say, this cycle of countless live albums and compilations is getting ridiculous. But with a track listing that includes recent choice cuts like “Brave New World”, “The Wicker Man”, “El Dorado”, “Fear Of The Dark”, “Be Quick Or Be Dead” and “Afraid To Shoot Strangers” it’s not a complete wash now is it?

  From Fear To Eternity: The Best Of 1990-2010 is a double CD set that concentrates on the last twenty years of the band. This covers the albums No Prayer For The Dying, Fear Of The Dark, Brave New World, Dance Of Death, A Matter Of Life And Death and The Final Frontier. The Blaze Bayley era material from The X Factor and Virtual XI are represented here in, you guessed it, live form from the Rock In Rio album. From Fear To Eternity takes on the theme of Iron Maiden‘s current live set list whereby the band has been playing newer material mainly from their last four studio albums — it’s not exactly what the casual fan might want to hear, but it’s a treat for the Maiden enthusiast who doesn’t mind the band mixing things up.

  From Fear To Eternity isn’t going to fly off shelves with five previous Iron Maiden best-of collections in existence, but this album could be used as sampler of current Iron Maiden work for casual fans who haven’t picked up their work post 1992’s Fear Of The Dark. If you are looking for a well rounded Iron Maiden compilation you might want to skip this and opt for 2002’s Edward The Great or 2008’s Somewhere Back In Time instead. – –

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, May 2011

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at