Jack Russell’s Great White: ‘Once Bitten Acoustic Bytes’

Released in April 2020 (Deadline Music)

When I first read that Jack Russell’s Great White were going to recut the Once Bitten album, I cringed, because when bands go back to recreate the classic material, it just doesn’t measure up. They threw in a little bit of a wrinkle into this project, by making it an acoustic effort. Well, that’s a little different, but I’m not a huge fan of acoustic albums. That being said, Tesla’s Five Man Acoustical Jam is great as is the latest Five Man London Jam. The two acts toured together back in their heyday and were on top of their game in the ’80s into the early ’90s before you know what rolled in…

Getting back to Jack Russell’s Great White, if you’re a Sleaze Roxx reader, you’re aware of the ‘divorce’ that transpired between Jack and his former bandmates several years ago. They got the name and Jack drafted some musicians to take part in a band that pays homage and celebrates his musical legacy with Great White. The band is tight and Jack’s voice is top notch. He’s clean and sober, tending to his health, all of which certainly contribute to his current vocal abilities. Jack and company issued an album titled He Saw It Comin’ in 2017. The album was well received and gained critical acclaim from the press and fans alike. Captain Jack’s Great White features former bandmate Tony Montana on guitar, who played bass on the classic albums, lead guitarist Robby Lochner (who also produced Once Bitten Acoustic Bytes), bassist Dan McKay and drummer Dicki Fliiszar. If you’ve witnessed this band live and in the flesh, you know how incredible they are.

You know the album. It features fan favorites “Gonna Getcha,” “All Over Now,” “Never Change Heart,” Mistreater” and the radio/video hits “Lady Red Light,” “Rock Me,” and “Save Your Love.” Once Bitten was loaded with killer track after track. On Once Bitten Acoustic Bytes, the songs have been reworked to fit the ‘acoustic’ renditions. Something tells me, knowing Great White, that the bulk of these tracks have acoustic based origins. This album allowed me to rediscover the ‘deeper’ tracks on this album such “Fast Road” and “Livin’ On The Edge” which I’m embarrassed to say I tend to gloss over. This inspired me to revisit the studio cuts and made me realize how incredible this record is as a whole.

As an added bonus, they’ve thrown Led Zeppelin’s “Babe (I’m Gonna Leave You)” which brings this full-circle. Great White performed that very song on MTV’s Unplugged in 1990 and spawned a music video that was in regular rotation for months. In short, I don’t have much use for ‘re-recorded’ albums but Once Bitten Acoustic Bytes puts a different spin on it. Even if you frown on acoustic albums, this is an extraordinary record. You’ll love it. I’m now anxiously awaiting the ‘acoustic’ interpretation of …Twice Shy, and Jack if you’re reading this, throw in a recording of “Wasted Rock Ranger” on it! In the meantime, pick up Once Bitten Acoustic Bytes.

Track List:
01. Lady Redlight
02. Gonna Getcha
03. Rock Me
04. All Over Now
05. Mistreated
06. Never Change Heart
07. Fast Road
08. Livin’ On The Edge
09. Save Your Love
10. Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You

Band Members:
Jack Russell – vocals
Tony Montana – guitar
Robby Lochner – lead guitar
Dan McKay – bass
Dicki Fliiszar – drums

Produced, engineered and mixed by Robby Lochner

Band Websites:
Official Website

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, April 2020

Jack Russell’s Great White‘s “Save Your Love” video (from Once Bitten Acoustic Bytes album):

Jack Russell’s Great White – Save Your Love (Official Music Video)

Directed by Vicente Cordero / Industrialism FilmsSpecial thanks to Kato Punk, Dusty Grave, and Leo Ramsey.Please Subscribe to our channel for the latest Cleo…